≡ Menu

Weight Bench Review and Ultimate Shopping Guide

Weight Bench - Shopping and Comparison Guide

A weight bench is one of the first pieces of equipment you should purchase when you are setting up a garage gym. A weight bench is important because it’s used for a large variety of exercises; not just for your chest, but also your triceps, back, and abs. Let’s be honest though – you want it to bench press.

Not only do you need a weight bench, you want a quality, reliable bench. A bench not only has to support your weight, but also the additional weight of what you’re lifting. As you get stronger, the weight it needs to safely support goes up. You need a bench that can handle your gains; it needs to be strong and stable under any load.

Safety isn’t the only reason to buy a nice weight bench. Comfort is just as important. Anyone who has ever purchased a budget desk chair should know how uncomfortable cheap padding is after very little use. When you have 200+ pounds pushing your back and ass into a bench, do you want to be on a $50 bench with ½” of dime-store padding, or a well constructed, 2-3″ thick pad of high density foam?

Now that we know why a bench isn’t the piece of gear to be overly thrifty on, let me give you the rundown on a handful of weight benches you may want to consider when shopping around. I will cover standard flat utility benches and a small selection of adjustable incline benches, but no decline benches or Olympic benches (you’ll typically have a rack in a garage gym making an Olympic bench sort of a redundant piece of equipment).

Also, for the reasons discussed above, I won’t be selecting any of the extremely low-end benches for this article. We’re talking about benches for our garage gyms here. We want equipment durable enough to outlive us; equipment our great-grandchildren can bench press on.

Want your bench’s specifications to be within the parameters set forth by the International Powerlifting Federation? You can see the current IPF equipment specs here.

Rogue Flat Utility Bench 2.0

Rogue Flat Utility Bench 2.0 Review

Rogue Flat Utility Bench 2.0 – firm Neoprene padding, commercial-grade stability, & American made – $175

Manufactured by Rogue Fitness in Columbus, Ohio, the recently updated Flat Utility Bench 2.0 is available in black, black, or black. The single piece steel frame is built with strong 11-gauge, 2″x3″ steel and this bench has a weight capacity of more than you can lift. The pad is high-density, very firm Neoprene and the legs are slightly angled outwards to improve stability – and it does improve stability. It weighs in at 40 pounds, it’s 18″ high, and has a footprint of 47″ x 14″.

I own this bench, and one of my favorite things about this bench is that the cushion is a full 12″ wide. Sure, that’s supposed to be the norm, but so many other mid-range benches out there now have gone with narrower 10″ cushions to save a few bucks, and that’s just not how it should be.

Side-by-side comparison of the Rogue Utility Benches

Along with all of the improvements that came with the 2.0, Rogue still managed to knock a few bucks off the price. The Rogue Flat Utility Bench sells for $175 and comes completely assembled (and it ships UPS still). It has a solid 5-star review, and it should be near the top of your list. This bench is all pros and no cons.


 

CFF Flat Utility Bench

the CFF Flat Utility Bench

CFF Flat Utility Bench – No frills bench – functional and affordable – Approx. $140

The CFF Flat Utility Bench has an 11-gauge box-steel frame – the base is 2″x2″ steel and the frame itself is 2″x3″. The bench has a total load capacity of about 700-pounds which is fine for most people, but stronger bench pressers will want to look for something with a 1000+ pound capacity. The height is good at 18″, and the pad width is good at 11″, but the length of the pad runs small at only 43″ (versus the 47-48″ that would be considered normal.)

The CFF Bench has wheels for easy mobility, and rubber feet for stabilization. The rubber feet are good, but the wheels seem pointless for a 40-pound bench. All-in-all this is a very middle-of-the-road utility bench. It’s stronger than box-store junk, but not quite as strong as commercial-grade equipment. At $140 though, it’s appropriately priced and should last for many years.


 

Rep Flat Utility Bench

The Rep Flat Bench is made of 11-gauge, 2″x2″ box-steel, and is rated for 1000-pounds. At $149 with free shipping, this seems like a good deal. Well it’s not a bad deal, but I personally prefer the more stable feeling of 2″x3″ steel in equipment that is expected to hold a great deal of weight. This is especially true when there is so many pieces held together with bolts rather than the frame being a welded, single piece design. It’ll hold, but it won’t feel nearly as stable and secure as something like the Rogue Utility.

Rep Fitness 1000-pound Flat Utility Bench

The Rep Bench is of a good size. It’s 47″ long x 17½” tall, and it does have a 12″ wide pad – and that pad is a nice 2½” thick. The bench itself is warranted for 5-years, but sadly the pad is only warranted for 90-days. 90-days is an alarmingly short warranty for that pad, and it makes me question how well it’s put together, but at the end of the day I may just be over-thinking it. This bench does have a lot of positive feedback so it’s certainly not going to be a disaster or anything like that.


 

York Barbell ST Flat Weight Bench

Manufactured by York Barbell, the York ST Flat Bench is offered in white or silver. It has high density foam in the cushion, is suitable for heavy workouts, and weighs about 55 pounds.  The bench height and length are pretty standard at 19″x 42.5″.

york st flat weight bench

This is a great option for those who want a strong, nearly-commercial bench, but who don’t have a huge budget. Priced at only $189, this is a quality weight bench from a company that’s been in business for a long damn time.


 

American Barbell Flat Utility Bench

Waiting on full specs from manufacture. In the meantime you can see the bench here.


 

Rogue Monster Utility Bench

rogue fitness monster utility bench

Rogue Fitness Monster Flat Utility Bench – $255

Manufactured by Rogue Fitness, the Rogue Monster Utility Bench is a heavy-duty bench made with 11 gauge 3″x 3″ steel. It has an extra wide 24″ footprint with rubber feet which are great for uneven surfaces. It is available with a normal cushion or a Thompson Fat Pad. The Fat Pad cushion is 19.75″ high and 47″ long. If you’re a big guy, this bench with the Fat Pad is for you. I actually really want one of these for myself.

Thompson Fat Pad for Monster Flat Utility Bench

Thompson Fat Pad on the Rogue Monster Bench

Regardless of which pad you get on this bad boy, this is one beefy bench. It’s $255 for the standard pad and $295 with the Fat Pad. Both sold directly from Rogue.


 

Legend 3100 Utility Bench

Legend Fitness makes commercial-grade gym equipment, and all Legend equipment is made to order – that means there is a lead time. The upside to the wait is that your bench will be any color you want. There are 16 frame color choices, and about 90 upholstery color choices. If you’re really hardcore, you can have logos embroidered on the cushions of your Legend Fitness gear.

legend-fitness utility bench 3100

The 3100 Utility Bench is 19″ high, 45″ long, and weighs about 56 lbs. It uses thick, high density foam in the cushion and it is very comfortable (I know!). In my experience, the best price on Legend gear is by buying direct from Legend. This bench will run you about $349 before freight.


 

Precor Icarian Flat Bench 101

precor 101 flat weight bench

Precor is found in many upscale health clubs. It’s built to be used all day, every day, and not fail. This bench is made of 11 gauge 2″x4″ bent electroweld steel , has a 2″ thick foam pad, and has a 10 year frame warranty. It’s 17 inches high, 53 inches long, and sells for about $450. This product should be ordered directly from Precor. I couldn’t find a better price than the MSRP from Precor.

♦ ♦ ♦ 

Adjustable Incline Benches

Adjustable benches will set you back some cash – that is if you buy one of reasonable quality. Anything under $300 is probably garbage, and there is a good chance you’ll be very disappointed in the stability and feel of a cheap bench. It’s helpful to know what angles you expect out of your incline bench before you pull the trigger on one.

My biggest suggestion is make sure it adjusts to 80-85 degrees if you intend to use it for shoulder work. You don’t actually need 90 degrees; it feels awkward and actually kind of pushes your upper body forward too far. Also make sure the seat itself adjusts. Some cheaper units just stay flat so you just slide right out of the seat at many incline positions.

York ST Adjustable Incline Bench

This is the adjustable version of the York ST Bench (above). The York incline adjustment system allows you to easily make adjustments to the 6 different back positions. This bench sits on wheels allowing for easy movement around the gym floor. This bench is made of heavy steel and has high-density foam padding with a durable powder coated finish. It is available in white or silver, weighs about 100 pounds, and is 57″ long by 19″ off the ground.

York ST Adjustable Incline Bench

You used to be able to pick this bench up at Rogue Fitness, but they’ve switched to only selling the flat variation of the ST. My guess is because they now manufacturer many of their own benches; many of which are in this guide. You can still get it at a competitive price at Amazon. They offer the pictured bench in white, and a silver version with an alternate pad shape that I personally think is silly.

IronMaster Super Adjustable Bench

Probably the most interesting adjustable bench on the market, the Ironmaster Super Bench is a rather versatile piece of equipment. Unlike any other incline bench, this thing accepts accessories like a crunch attachment and dip station (huh?). It also has the most possible angles than any other bench I know of – 11 to exact; ranging from flat to 85 degrees.

Ironmaster Super Adjustable Bench - Flat to Incline 85 degrees

The Super Bench has seriously deviated from normal bench specifications. When it’s flat, it sits an incredible 20″ off of the ground, and shorter people have to come up with create ways to get their feet flat on the ground when benching. The price is very reasonable at about $325, and it has a crap load of positive reviews, so I guess people are willing to overlook the odd dimensions since the bench is affordable and stable.

Overall specifications when flat are 17″ x 41″, 20″ high. The pad itself is slim at only 10″ wide though. It’s rated for 1000-pounds flat, and 600-pounds in incline positions. The lower rating is likely due to 12-gauge steel being used rather than 11-gauge. An interesting bench though. It’s not for me, but it could be for you.

Legend Fitness 3103 Adjustable Bench

First off, I own this bench. I’ve had it for years now and I can tell you that it is a beast. It’s mounted on 11 gauge 3″ x 3″ steel frame, and the padding is nearly 3″ thick and very comfortable. Its adjustable from flat to 85 degrees with for a total of 7 back angles and 3 seat angles. It weights about 100 pounds and it’s measurements when flat are 21″ high and 55″ long. The pad is 10″ wide by default, but it can be ordered with a 12″ pad as well.

legend 3103 adjustable weight bench

As with all Legend products, there are hundreds of color combinations that you can select from when ordering. Unfortunately there is also a lead time since it is made to order. Order directly from Legend for the best price. MSRP is $649, but you’ll have to call Legend to get an actual quote.

Rogue AB-2 Adjustable Bench

The Rogue AB-2 has the most possible seat adjustments with 6 seat angles and 9 back angles that range from flat to 85 degrees. Made with strong 11-gauge steel just like all Rogue benches, the adjustable bench also has a handle and wheels for moving it around (nearly 100 pounds), load bearing rubber feet, and a pretty thick pad.

The total length is 52″, and the height is 17.25″. This bench is a little too pricey at $815 if you ask me, but it does look sturdy as hell. If you like this bench but not the price, see below!

Rogue Adjustable Bench 2.0

I guess the AB-2 Bench from above wasn’t a very good seller considering that $800 price tag, so Rogue has introduced the 2.0 at a much, much more affordable price.

The 2.0 doesn’t have nearly as many possible positions, but it should be enough for most people. This bench has six incline positions ranging from a flat 0° to about 85°, and the seat can be set in two positions; either flat or at an angle for incline positions. Both models have the rubber feet, wheels, and a handle for moving it around.

One of the benefits of this version (other than the much lower price) is that there is practically no gap between each cushion. I know I’m not the only person who dislikes incline benches for flat work because of the 2-3″ gap normally found, but that won’t be a problem with this bench. This bench is made with 2″x3″ 11-gauge steel and measures 11.25″ x 17.5″ x 52″. $545

Precor Super Bench

I’m fairly certain this used to be part of the Icarian commercial line, but now they’re calling it the Super Bench. This, like the Precor 101 Flat Bench listed above, is a high-end commercial weight bench.  It’s built with 11 gauge 2″x 4″ steel, has a handle and wheels for easy mobility around your gym, and has a nice 2″ thick foam padding. There are seven back positions from flat to 90 degrees. It’s measurements while flat are 19″ high by 54″ long.

precor super bench

Have $1050 lying around? Buy a rack! This is a very nice bench, but it’s just too damn expensive. If you must have it, you can order it from Precor and get your choice of color (with a lead time), or you can actually pick this up on Amazon at its normal MSRP with free shipping for Prime members.

In Summary

There are a lot of options out there and a wide range of prices when it comes to weight benches. You can spend less money than any bench on this page, but I do not recommend it; not if you want a stable, reliable, and safe piece of equipment holding you up.

If you have experience with any of these benches that you’d like to share; either good or bad, please do. Or if you have had a great experience with a bench not covered here, bring that up as well. Leave a comment below. Thanks for reading, and please share this site with a friend.

Rogue Fitness - the leader in Crossfit and home gym equipment

{ 49 comments… add one }
  • Jason December 20, 2013, 2:14 pm

    Thanks for the reviews man, I’m definitely leaning towards the York st flat incline because York is practically the founders of getting yoked

  • Ryan March 6, 2014, 11:22 am

    Anyone know the lowest incline angle you can set on the York ST adjustable bench? I’m a personal believer in very low inclines (<30 degrees) for upper chest.

    • jburgeson March 6, 2014, 11:53 am

      I looked around. Even York’s site doesn’t list the 6 angles. Honestly it doesn’t look like the lowest setting will be very low. If you want under 30 degrees, that’s probably not the bench for you.

  • Carl November 13, 2014, 4:07 pm

    When buying my bench I looked all around the internet and at reviews of available benches I knew about. The best offering I could find was by XMark. The XM-7472 which is an incline bench. I’ve been using it for almost a year and am very happy with it. Amazon has it at about $300 but I got mine at a Sears outlet I believe. If I knew now what I knew then I would have just bought a flat bench. Haven’t done incline much at all.

  • Petro December 15, 2014, 3:24 pm

    Thank you for the reviews! Very helpful. I’m in the market for an inclined bench. Any ideas about IronMaster Super Bench?

    • jburgeson December 15, 2014, 4:05 pm

      That is certainly one peculiar piece of equipment, Petro. Honestly, after looking at that, I’m still not 100% sure how that thing even works. Does that seat just come off when you don’t want to use it?

      There are some things about it that I wouldn’t like for myself, but maybe they don’t bother you. First I dislike incline benches that use notches rather than holes with pins. The whole system is just less secure (all but one of the incline benches i included have pins). Second, if I’m reading that description right, there is a foot lever for making the adjustments to the incline position? What happens when you toss your dumbbells after a set and they hit that lever? What “locks” it?

      I could be misunderstanding how this thing works. Perhaps you’ve already used one and know all the answers to these questions. I think that product description needs so many more pictures since they’ve gone completely against the grain with that bench. A whole lot more parts than is necessary for an incline bench. Price is good though =P

  • mike February 16, 2015, 5:18 pm

    Trying to keep within a budget here – Im debating between the Adidas Flat Bench ($80 free shipping) and the Rogue Flat Bench. Now I fully know the Rogue will be superior in every possible way – but could I get away with saving $150 by going with the Adidas?

    • jburgeson February 16, 2015, 5:26 pm

      Yeah absolutely. It’ll get you by for a while. Will have to treat it a little better as the upholstery and all that won’t be the same quality, but it will get the job done. You can upgrade down the road.

      • freeweightsam August 8, 2015, 8:17 am

        Don’t do it. My Addias bench is going back to Amazon. One of the welds was cracked open and the leg was bent so it wobbled. This was actually dangerous. No more Made in China for me.

  • Dylan Sinclair March 19, 2015, 11:14 pm

    Have you looked at this bench by rep at all?

    http://www.repfitness.com/strength-equipment/strength-training/benches/rep-fid-adjustable-bench

    I was planning to get the adjustable York due to budget constraints, but this is just barely reachable for me. What I don’t want to do is get it and wish I waited to save for a better incline/decline bench. Any help much appreciated!

    • jburgeson March 19, 2015, 11:40 pm

      I hadn’t looked at that before, but I did just now. I personally am not a fan of those ladder adjustments. It also doesn’t look like the seat itself adjusts very much. Maybe good enough for Military press, but incline bench is going to feel like you’re slipping out if that’s as high as it goes in that second picture. Other than that, it looks fine. The price is certainly decent. If those two things don’t bother you then they don’t bother me =p

  • Vince April 4, 2015, 7:42 pm

    Trying to find a short bench to fit into where I’ll be setting up my rack, any ideas? Thanks

    • jburgeson April 4, 2015, 8:32 pm

      yikes no, I don’t know of anyone that makes anything significantly shorter. How short are you talking about?

      • Vince April 5, 2015, 12:53 pm

        Measured out for where rack will go– Have about 40 inches of space to fit it onto this platform in my garage— can’t seem to find anything this short– maybe does not exist

  • @RUBESIG July 2, 2015, 8:07 am

    Hey JB,

    Have you ever heard of the Equipment RAW 3×3 Flat Utility Bench? It’s roughly $125 shipped, and the specs are:
    •750lb Weight Capacity
    •Heavy Duty 3″x3″ Steel Frame
    •Extended 12″x47″ Bench Surface
    •High Density 2.5″ Pad
    •Standard 17.5″ Bench Height
    •3-Leg Design for optimal foot placement
    •Extra-Large Rubber Foot Pads for stability
    •52″x23″ Footprint
    •41lb Unit Weight

    I like the price and the specs, but can’t seem to find a review. I would think the weight capacity would be more with a 3″x3″ build, but other than that, I can’t find anything wrong with it.

    • jburgeson July 2, 2015, 10:57 am

      I had not seen that before, no. I appears reasonable. Probably the reason why the weight capacity isn’t high for the steel size is because the steel gauge may not be very impressive. They didn’t list it as a spec. I guess it’s also marked down because it’s a scratch and dent; or at least that’s what I see on their site, which may not even be where you’re seeing it.

      • @rubesig July 2, 2015, 2:02 pm

        You’re right, they do mention the item may come scratched, scuffed, or marked during shipping. They have an ebay store and of course their website has it. I think I’d be better off, and feel more confident with the Rogue 2.0 flat bench after you made a very good point on the gauge of steel possibly being unimpressive.

        thanks for the feedback

        • jburgeson July 2, 2015, 2:23 pm

          Yeah you know, it doesn’t say so I don’t know. I just believe that if it were actually 11-gauge, it should hold well over a 1000 pounds.

  • ssmmgg July 31, 2015, 7:24 pm

    One thing I need point out is that, seems the Adjustable Bench 2.0 is not update for AB-2 but for old Adjustable Bench, which you can find in the some pic of R3 rack: http://cdn.roguefitness.com/media/catalog/product/cache/1/image/9df78eab33525d08d6e5fb8d27136e95/r/m/rml3-1.jpg?_ga=1.264295311.1875090829.1417569951

    and that price in fact not reduced much. only improvement is smaller gap and more positions.

    • jburgeson July 31, 2015, 11:07 pm

      Indeed, still a much more reasonable price than the AB-2 though. At the very least it’s more competitive with the commercial units. That old one looks awful though.

  • Bruced September 3, 2015, 1:41 pm

    Have you had any experience with the Rae Crowther PRO GOLD AWESOME Utility Bench? A lot of people like it due to it’s ability to be used as an incline. It’s about 1k and has some lead time so it’s definitely on the higher end of the scale!

    • Bruced September 3, 2015, 1:43 pm

      *decline

      • jburgeson September 3, 2015, 3:36 pm

        I’ve not seen that bench to be honest. It is indeed pretty expensive. I have the Legend 3-way and it’s like $600’ish, but I’ve never even looked at decline benches as I’m just one of those people that don’t see the point to them. Also that thing has a massive gap in between the seat and backrest. Would be awful as a flat/utility position for me.

        • Bruced September 3, 2015, 4:05 pm

          Care to elaborate on why you don’t use decline? I use them for sit-ups and the occasional bench. I just want to “buy once cry once” and not regret not having a decline should I need it later.

          Your site has been immensely helpful! Do you get any referral kickbacks if we use your links? I’ll definitely share with my buddies that lift. Thanks again!

          • jburgeson September 3, 2015, 5:02 pm

            I just never saw any benefit to decline presses back in the gym days when I had access to those benches. Incline and flat were always where the growth was. Even if there was moderate benefit to it, I am not personally willing to buy a decline bench. Ab work is another reason to get one I suppose, but I have a GHD so it would be a redundant piece. Don’t get me wrong I’m not suggesting that you shouldn’t own it, I’m just here playing devil’s advocate. Plus, and I know I’m not alone on this one, but the large gaps in benches is really uncomfortable when using the bench flat. I own the Rogue 2.0 bench almost exclusively because I can’t stand using my Legend as a flat bench, and the gap isn’t even that big. I’m also tall, so there is really no way for me to get my ass out of the gap. I can’t speak to how shorter folks feel about it though =P

            Also thanks, I’m glad it’s been helpful. Well there’s the Rogue banner on the right sidebar there, and there are a other banners and links on the site. I don’t run too much in the way of annoying ads because I think it kind of cheapens the site and I want people to have the information, not leave because the sites irritating to be on. The more people that visit and click on just whatever, the more likely I am to be recognized for it. I absolutely always appreciate any kind of sharing.

  • scott November 20, 2015, 5:04 am

    CFF FID Bench
    https://christiansfitnessfactory.com/cff-flat-incline-decline-bench.html

    This caught my eye several days ago. Their Black Friday calendar listed their flat bench on sale. But if you hit the link it showed this was on sale as well. I think it was about $260. (Rumor has it all their BF stuff will be on sale again during Cyber Monday.)

    Very streamlined and minimalistic. It’s almost as if an Apple engineer built it. I’m like you, I’d much prefer a huge pin over a gear and sprockets.

  • Ross April 25, 2016, 1:02 am

    So what’s the best width for an adjustable bench where I expect to do both bench press and dumbbell work? Rogue seems to tout their 12″ width. The Legend has a 10″ width but you can ask for a 12″ wide pad. CFF doesn’t seem to care if I know the width of their pad. The XMark offerings on Amazon seem to be narrower than 10″ around the shoulders but I can’t tell the exact width either.

    Two other considerations: my wife lifts and I have a boy who is a little too young to be doing compound exercises to failure, but it will only be a few years before he is ready to join his dad out in the garage and I’d like the bench to be useful for all of us.

    I’m leaning towards the Legend with the default 10″ pad, mostly looking to hear that it’s not too wide for dumbbell work and will also do a good job with smaller shoulders.

    • jburgeson April 25, 2016, 9:38 am

      Yeah probably 10″ in your case. I still use the 10″ on my Legend, and even though I keep telling myself I’m going to order the 12″ pad for it, I haven’t yet. If it were just you I’d still probably suggest 12″ for flat or incline, but it’s not just you.

    • scott April 30, 2016, 1:54 pm

      the CFF FID is 11″

      • jburgeson April 30, 2016, 3:42 pm

        You have one? Did I read it wrong or are the mfg specs just off?

        • scott April 30, 2016, 4:00 pm

          I have one and measured it before posting. Their utility bench, which I also have, is also 11″ as well.

          • jburgeson April 30, 2016, 9:13 pm

            I’ll update that in the post, thanks Scott

  • JC June 10, 2016, 3:14 am

    Would you have any reviews/suggestions for a bench that can do decline angles, as well? Thanks!

    • jburgeson June 10, 2016, 8:38 am

      I do not, sorry. Decline benches are really only necessary for a single lift, so it seemed like a bad item to recommend for a garage gym – very limited in their usefulness, yet expensive for the units that are strong and stable.

  • George October 31, 2016, 1:36 pm

    Hey there, as always on this website…great review! Very informative. I FINALLY purchased my floor mats, body solid dumbbell rack, and body solid dumbbell set. Now I’m saving up cash for my bench press.

    Originally, my intent was to buy an adjustable utility bench, mainly because they look cooler and sturdier than regular flat benches.

    But two things have made me think twice about purchasing an adjustable incline bench.
    1) my previous rotator cuff surgery (doc said I shouldn’t do incline presses ever again, but to practice caution if i every decide to).
    2) Cost.

    Other than using the adjustable bench for inclines, are there any reasons/advantages to having this type of bench, If I find myself doing flat bench presses 90-95% of the time?

    thanks again,

    george

    • jburgeson October 31, 2016, 4:46 pm

      George they are not very useful outside of incline bench and military press. They’re nice to have (if you don’t have a shoulder injury) but I’m fairly certain most people still do just fine with a flat utility bench.

      • George November 1, 2016, 9:09 am

        Thanks for the reply! In case I decided to go with an adjustable incline, are you able to tell me about the gap between the upper back and seat pads for both the York ST adjustable incline bench and the Legend Fitness 3103 adjustable bench? I recently saw a body solid incline bench at a local vendor store and the gap was huge! It felt awkward and uncomfortable.

        thanks,

        • jburgeson November 1, 2016, 10:14 am

          I would say both are relatively small gaps – not huge by any means. The new (expensive) Rogue adjustable has the smallest gap that I know of, but I wouldn’t spend all that just for less gap when there really isn’t anything wrong with the others.

          • George November 4, 2016, 3:38 pm

            Just wanted to let you know that I went ahead and purchased the Legend Fitness 3-way utility bench like the one you have. Red upholstery with silver vein frame coat. Went directly through Legend and saved about $100 as compared to buying online. Regional salesman told me the bench will outlive me (-:

  • Aron November 7, 2016, 12:07 pm

    I am looking for a high quality bench that can do all three: incline/flat/decline. I am 5’7″ so the Ironmaster Super Bench would probably pose a problem for me since it sits 20″ off the floor. Do you have any recommendations for me? (preferably something below $500…but if there aren’t any good ones that cheap, I suppose I could buck up and pay more). I definitely want this bench to be the last bench I have to buy. Thank you for all of your great articles!

    • jburgeson November 7, 2016, 3:46 pm

      I do not. What I suggest is buying a good adjustable (0-85 degree) bench that will last, and if you absolutely feel like you need a decline bench, then go buy a cheap decline-only bench on the side. Also, depending on the degree of decline you need, it does work to stack up to a couple 45-pound plates under one end of a flat bench. Of course you can’t get extreme because you’ll just slide right off, but it works for up to -10/-15 degrees.

      • Aron November 7, 2016, 5:43 pm

        That makes sense. I think I will do that. Thanks for the tip

        • jburgeson November 7, 2016, 5:47 pm

          Oh, *45-pound bumper plates btw. Most bench bases will just stick to the rubber and not move around. Probably doesn’t work on steel plates.

  • larry November 14, 2016, 6:43 pm

    I’m looking for an adjustable bench that when flat does not have a big gap at the adjustable point. Do you have any suggestions as most photos do not show an adj bench in a completely flat position.

    • jburgeson November 15, 2016, 9:21 am

      Rogue AB 2.0 has the smallest gap

  • Terrence B. Harden January 4, 2017, 12:03 pm

    I’ve been looking at the Vulcan “Heavy Duty Flat Bench” and for all intents and purposes it seems like it would be equivalent to the Rouge Flat Bench 2.0. I’m just a little leery since the bench has zero reviews and it doesn’t list the bench pad material.

    Has anyone had any experience with this bench? I own Vulcan alpha bumpers and Vulcan OLY bars and they are great product.

    Link to bench: http://www.vulcanstrength.com/Vulcan-3×3-Flat-Bench-p/vflb-.htm

    • jburgeson January 4, 2017, 12:45 pm

      I actually asked Vulcan this question because your question made me curious as well, but they weren’t exactly sure; which means it’s likely nothing unique. It’s probably just standard, high-density foam like you’d find in most other benches. I’ve actually received a small amount of feedback on this bench and from what I heard it’s pretty great, but maybe someone will chime in with more than second-hand information.

  • Konstantinos April 3, 2017, 10:14 am

    Hey all! First off I’d like to say thanks for this detailed and informative site. Very well put together. On to my question. This is the first time in 15 years of working out constantly I have not bought or even contemplated working out at home. Although I don’t plan on full time working out at home I’m starting to feel it’s a necessity with my new born. This is more home equipment for a day or two a week so I won’t miss a workout/body part. Nonetheless I feel I’m so far into working out that I don’t want anything crappy either. Working out solely at gyms my whole life I haven’t used anything really under commercial grade. So although it may be overkill I need something that is going to be sturdy. I’m benching Anything from 25-125 “b dumbells and anythin from 135-365 on flat. I’m 6’2” 200lbs. I have used York and Icarian most my life at the gyms and don’t really have any complaints. I’m currently researching online and it seems everyone has their own piece about every thing other than rogue. Nothing really bad being said about rogue. And from the looks I understand why. I didn’t want to go crazy on the home, especially for a day a week but I also am a little picky, I have invested a lot into this. There are a few things I need and I think I might need. Ideally I want a flat, incline, decline bench. I definitely feel I need flat and incline and didn’t want to go crazy and spend over 500 but If it is necessary and worth it, I guess I would for the rogue incline bench 2.0. I have seen a few online that caught my eye. Xmark 9010 for the warranty flat incline decline and stability, iron master super bench for the same reasons along with the possible add one of dips and pull-ups again with a great warranty, and finally the rogue just for doing what is needed, flat and incline perfectly with stability warranty and comfort. Ideally I wanted to spend 300, but I would 550 if needed. The gap on xmark scares me and iromaster just seems a little weird or to good to be true. Also never see them at gyms. Let me now what you guys think. Maybe I should just suck it up and get the rogue flat bench for under 200. After all it is only a filler day.

    • jburgeson April 3, 2017, 11:35 am

      I say buy a flat utility bench, especially if you’ll still have gym access most of the time. If you ever transition into a full-time garage gymer, you can look into an adjustable.

Leave a Comment

Sorry for the Captchas *