≡ Menu

A Guide to Buying Steel Powerlifting Plates & Discs [STICKY]

A Guide to Buying Steel Powerlifting Plates/Discs

With bumper plate options more than covered across the Internet (here included), I figured it was time to tackle the options for standard weight plates, coated plates, and powerlifting discs. In this guide I’ll cover multiple styles, numerous brands, and offer up enough product examples for you to be able to evaluate any brand or style of plate you happen to stumble upon in your quest for iron.

If you know of a good set of plates not listed here, feel free to comment. We don’t so much need to hear about any more of the cheap plates though. If I listed every Body Solid, VTX, Weider, and X-Mark plate on the market this page would crash your browser.


Cast Iron Plates – Cheap and Inaccurate

Purchasing basic, cast iron plates is the cheapest way to load up on weight plates in a gym. Cast iron can be had new for as little as ~$1 a pound; both in chain stores and online. Make some effort to find them used and you can pay as little as $.50 per pound.

Whether you buy new or used you’ll want to keep one thing in mind, cheap cast Iron plates are known to be wildly inaccurate. Some of the cheaper brands and styles can deviate from the stated weight by 5-10%; brands like CAP Barbell for instance. Matter of fact, these kind of inaccuracies are going to be hard to avoid unless you upgrade to machined plates.

Standard cast iron Olympic weight plates

Online prices are competitive, but you generally still have to pay for shipping for all but the shittiest of plates. This is what makes at least checking the box stores appealing. If you do plan to buy cast iron plates in a local store you absolutely must bring a scale with you. It’s unlikely that you’ll find plates that are the stated weight, but you can at least try to make sure that each pair of plates you buy are the same weight. It seems better to have a pair of 47-lb plates than a 41-lb and a 48.5-lb plate, right?

Price Comparisons (45-pound pair)

 Rep Fitness Cast Iron Plates with a 3% Accuracy Rating

Rep Fitness Basic Cast Iron Plates

Basic cast iron sold in pairs or sets. 3% accuracy guarantee. Best internet price for plates with any accuracy guarantee.

Pair of 45’s: $80

 Rogue Basic Cast Iron Plates

Rogue Basic Cast Iron Plates

Basic cast iron with black finish and silver lettering. No accuracy guarantee, 100-lb plates available, sold in pairs.

Pair of 45’s: $105

 CAP Barbell OP Cast Iron Plates

CAP Barbell OP Cast Iron Plates

Basic cast iron with black finish and silver lettering. No accuracy guarantee, 100-lb plates available, potentially found in box-stores to avoid shipping, sold individually.

Pair of 45’s: $110

 Champion Grip Cast Iron Plates

Champion Cast Iron Grip Plates

Basic cast iron plates with black enamel finish and multiple hand grips. No accuracy guarantee, sold individually.

Pair of 45’s: $110

 Troy USA Model O Cast Iron Plates

Troy USA Model O Cast Iron Plates

Basic cast iron plates with milled edges and grey enamel. No accuracy guarantee, 100-lb plates available, sold individually.

Pair of 45’s: $102

 VTX Model GO Cast Iron Plates

VTX Model GO Cast Iron Plates

Basic cast iron with rust-resistant baked enamel finish, precision drilled hole, and handles. 100-pound plate available, sold individually. 

Pair of 45’s: $160

 CAP Barbell OPHG3 12-Sided Plates

CAP Barbell OPHG3 12-Sided Plates

Basic cast iron plates with 12-sides and handles. Has grey enamel finish, no accuracy guarantee, and sold individually. Stick with round plates though.

Pair of 45’s: $176

There are countless brands & models of simple, cast iron plates out there. Honestly these cheap, inaccurate plates are so easy to find used that I think you’re throwing your money away by buying them new. If you care about accuracy even a little bit then you’re throwing your money away by buying them at all. You should be looking at machined or milled cast iron, which I’ll cover next.


Non-Calibrated, Machined Cast Iron Plates

While still not accurate enough to be considered ‘precise’, non-calibrated, machined plates tend to be far more accurate than the cheap plates from the previous section. Machining or milling plates leads to a more refined product. The final weight is easier to control, as are tolerances to both the center hole and overall diameter.

Rogue Machined Cast Iron Olympic Plates

If you’re not willing to drop the cash for calibrated powerlifting discs, but you would still like to have a fairly good idea of how much weight you’re lifting while knowing both sides of the bar are balanced, machined plates are the way to go. Expect a 2% accuracy with machined plates. Here are some brand and pricing examples.

Price Comparisons (45-pound pair)

Rep Fitness Cast Iron Equalizer Plates

Rep Fitness Equalizer Cast Iron Plates

Machine, cast iron plates with drilled hole and grey or black enamel. 2% accuracy guarantee, sold individually or in sets. Great pricing if shipping to you is decent.

Pair of 45’s: $130

York Legacy Milled Cast Iron Plates

York Legacy Milled Cast Iron Plates

These cast iron plates are replicas of York’s original Olympic Standard Plate. They are milled to within 2% of indicated weight, and are sold individually. 100-pound plate available.

Pair of 45-lb plates: $166

Rogue Machined Cast Iron Olympic Plates

Rogue Machined Cast Iron Olympic Plates

Machined cast iron plates with grey hammertone enamel and raised black text. Weights are accurate to within 2%/-0%. Sold in pairs and a 245-pound set.

Pair of 45-lb plates: $146

Rogue 6-Shooter Olympic Grip Plates

Rogue 6-Shooter Olympic Grip Plates

Cast iron plates with grey hammertone enamel, raised black text, and symmetrical grip holes. Large plates are accurate to within 1%. Sold in pairs and a 245-pound set.

Pair of 45-lb plates: $142

Troy Barbell Model HO Cast Iron Plates

Troy Barbell Model HO Cast Iron Plates

Machined cast iron plates with grey hammertone enamel. Weights are accurate to within 2%, and 100-lb plates are available. Sold as single plates.

Pair of 45-lb plates: $170

Ivanko OM Machined Cast Iron Plates

Ivanko OM-Series Machined Cast Iron Plates (lb & kg)

High-quality casting, fully machined, drilled hole (not cast), and chip resistant baked-on-polyester paint. Available in pounds or kilos. 100-pound plate is available. Sold in singles.

Pair of 45-lb plates: $201

Ivanko OMEZH Machined E-Z Lift Cast Iron Plates

Ivanko OMEZH Machined E-Z Lift Cast Iron Plates

Sand-casted and machined cast iron plates with multiple EZ grip holes and chip-resistant baked-on-polyester paint. 100-pound plate is available. Sold in singles. Very nice, very expensive.

Pair of 45-lb plates: $224

Again I strongly suggest you buy machined plates versus simple cast iron if you take your lifting seriously. The price difference isn’t that much (if you avoid Ivanko) considering that you get a pretty solid level of accuracy and a refined surface texture that’s far less likely to damage the sleeve finish and/or cut your hands.

When shopping around, please note that Troy has three divisions: Troy Barbell (commercial line), then VTX and Troy USA. The last two are much lower quality and not recommended.


Calibrated, Professional IPF Powerlifting Discs

IPF-approved calibrated Powerlifting Discs

IPF-style, steel powerlifting plates are machine calibrated to very tight weight tolerances; typically to within about 10 grams of stated weight. They have a precise 50 mm opening, a much slimmer profile than basic cast iron plates, and they are painted according to the IPF coloring scheme. Most calibrated plates on the market are in kilograms, but Rogue Fitness was kind enough to offer these in pounds as well.

Pricing for calibrated, certified plates is obviously going to be more than what you’d pay for non-calibrated, machined plates. Needless to say it’s a whole lot more than what you’d pay for simple cast iron. Don’t expect much in the way of savings for buying sets unless you buy massive sets (400 kg or more.) Rogue has the best prices by far, and they also utilize the calibration plugs for increased accuracy; making them a clear winner in this category.

Price Comparisons (25 kilogram pair)

Rogue Calibrated Powerlifting Discs in kilograms and pounds

Rogue Calibrated Powerlifting Discs (IPF)

Precision steel with calibration plugs; accurate to within 10 grams of stated weight. Change plates and a 50 kg plate are available. Sold in pairs and sets. IPF approved.

Pair of 25 kg / 55 lb plates: $218

 Vulcan Steel Calibrated Powerlifting Discs

Vulcan Calibrated Powerlifting Discs

Calibrated to within 10g of stated weight, these are priced comparably to the Rogue’s but just might have a cooler look to them. Sold in pairs or sets.

Pair of 25 kg plates: $221

Powerlifting Competition Discs IPF approved

Powerlifting Competition Discs (IPF)

Precision cast iron discs. No weight tolerance is offered by Sweden, but they are IPF-approved. Sold in pairs and sets.

Pair of 25 kg plates: $258

Titex Powerlifting Competition Discs

Titex Powerlifting Competition Discs (IPF)

Precision cast iron plates that are calibrated to within .25% of stated weight. They are IPF-approved, ugly as sin, and sold in both pairs and sets.

Pair of 25 kg plates: $334

Ivanko Calibrated Powerlifting Discs

Ivanko Calibrated Powerlifting Discs (IPF)

These are similar to Rogue’s discs. They are extremely accurate thanks to the calibration plugs. They come in all the same sizes as Rogue; including a 50 kg disc. Sold in single discs only.

Pair of 25 kg plates: $367

Strength Shop UK Slim Powerlifting Discs

Strength Shop UK Slim Powerlifting Discs

Available only in Europe, these are not calibrated or IPF-approved, but they are accurate to within 1% and a viable option for those without these US-based options. Sold as singles.

Pair of 25 kg plates: £190 (EU ONLY)

There is a slight lack of consistency among the different brands when it comes to the size of the plates. All 25 kg plates are 450 mm in diameter and about 26-27 mm thick, but 20 kg plates can be either 400 mm or 450 mm depending on brand. Titex has smaller diameter 20 kg plates, while the others maintain the 450 mm on 20 kg plates. If you ask me, the 20 and 25 kg plates being the same diameter is best.

Vulcan Powerlifting Discs in kilograms and pounds - coming soon?

Vulcan is currently in the process of developing powerlifting plates as well. Prices will probably be very competitive.


Rubber / Urethane Coated Steel Plates

Generally considered more of a commercial gym product, coated plates are becoming more commonplace in home/garage gyms. People tend to like them because of the handles (they are easy to move around and use for random exercises), the lack of rust issues versus iron, and the fact that are just nice looking. While more expensive than simple cast iron, they are still more affordable than calibrated discs, and they do last a long time.

Rubber and Urethane coated Olympic Weight Plates

Technically speaking, urethane is a better and longer lasting material than rubber. It is also more expensive. If your plates are stored indoors and not exposed to the elements, there is probably no need to pay for urethane over rubber. Also, keep in mind that coated plates are not bumper plates.

Price Comparisons (45-pound pair)

CAP Barbell OPHR Rubber Coated Olympic Plates

CAP OPHR Rubber Coated Plates

Rubber coated, cast iron plates with no guarantee of accuracy. Sold only in pairs. Not really recommended.

Pair of 45’s: $125

Vulcan Quad Grip Rubber Coated Olympic Plates

Vulcan Quad Grip Rubber Coated Plates

Rubber coated, cast iron plates with minimal odor and stainless steel insert. Weight tolerance is within 2% of stated weight. Sold in pairs or sets. Highly recommended at their price point.

Pair of 45’s: $182

American Barbell Rubber Coated Olympic Plates

American Barbell Rubber Coated Plates

Rubber coated, cast iron plates with stainless steel insert and no guarantee of accuracy, though AB is a solid company and these plates have never been reported as inaccurate. Sold only in pairs.

Pair of 45’s: $188

Ivanko ROEZH Olympic Rubber E-Z Lift Plates

Ivanko Olympic Rubber E-Z Lift Plates

Proprietary rubber coated, cast iron plates with minimal odor and high accuracy rating. Available in black, colored, pounds and kilos. Sold as single plates only.

Pair of black 45’s: $317

Rogue 6-Shooter URETHANE Grip Plates

Rogue 6-Shooter URETHANE Grip Plates

Urethane coated, cast iron plates with no odor, stainless steel insert, and high accuracy rating. Sold in pairs and sets. Very fair pricing for urethane discs with 1% accuracy.

Pair of 45’s: $249

Troy Barbell URETHANE Encased Grip Plate

Troy Barbell URETHANE Grip Plate

These urethane coated, cast iron plates are Troy’s commercial plates. They feature no odor, 2% accuracy, and Troy’s interlocking plate system. Sold as singles.

Pair of 45’s: $343

Ivanko Olympic URETHANE E-Z Lift Plates

Ivanko Olympic URETHANE E-Z Lift Plates

High-quality urethane coated, cast iron plates with no odor, high accuracy, and available in both pounds and kilos. Sold only as singles. Very high-end plates.

Pair of 45’s: $382

Iron Grip URETHANE Encased Olympic Plates

Iron Grip URETHANE Encased Olympic Plates

Impact resistant urethane coated, cast iron plates with no odor and high level of accuracy. These are extremely common in commercial gyms, but sadly are not round. Sold in pairs. Made in USA.

Pair of 45’s: $361

When it comes to coated plates, there are really nice options and super shitty options. Just about every box-store manufacturer makes rubber-coated discs; CAP, Body Solid, X-Mark, and Troy’s non-commercial division (VTX and Troy USA); among many others. Just like the economy cast iron plates, accuracy is crap on the cheap coated plates. Save your money.


My Personal Recommendations

My best advice would be to avoid anything in the CAP price range or below unless you can somehow weigh out the discs prior to purchase. I can think of no situation in where it would be acceptable to have weights with tolerances in excess of 10%, and I can’t even begin to imagine being okay with having trash like that in your own gym for your own personal use. I mean talk about not valuing your training.

In terms of brands and value, Rogue has fair prices and highly accurate options in almost every plate style imaginable. Ivanko produces comparable equipment to Rogue, but at one heck of a premium. Troy’s commercial line is also solid for both steel and coated plates, but also expensive. Vulcan has great prices on their coated plates, but currently does not offer any steel plates.

Again, if you’re going to go with simple cast iron, try to find them used before buying them new. If you end up having to pay for brand new, opt for machined plates. Price difference is minimal, but quality and accuracy is night and day.

Share me, please.

{ 81 comments… add one }
  • T November 16, 2017, 9:34 pm

    Found a set of GP (pre-American Barbell) urethane coated plates on CL last year. Filled in the set with a few extra pairs of 10s, 5s, and 2.5s off the AB closeout page. Perfect for body building stuff with loadable dumbbells, EZ curl bar, and Swiss bar. Highly recommended.

    Guess this is the exception to my previous statement about all my plates being Vulcan. All my bumpers and change plates are Vulcan. Want the comp plates to match. I consider my GPs separate.

    • jburgeson November 16, 2017, 9:50 pm

      I wonder if they officially stopped printing GP on stuff. It’s technically the parent company – AB didn’t dissolve that as far as I know.

      • T November 17, 2017, 7:19 am

        I previously understood GP to be their commercial line with American Barbell being their direct to consumer line. Wonder if they would start to use the AB name across the board as the brand grows.

        • jburgeson November 17, 2017, 9:55 am

          That’s true, but they’re branding dumbbells and plates with ‘American Barbell’ in commercial settings now, which is why I wonder if they’ve totally abandoned GP.

          • T November 17, 2017, 10:09 am

            Sounds like it. Makes sense. Anybody want to trade a set of ultra-rare, vintage GP urethane coated plates for new calibrated steel, haha?

  • M November 17, 2017, 2:50 am

    Very timely. Any thought on York rubber interlock (http://www.vulcanstrength.com/Rubber-Coated-Interlocking-Olympic-Plates-p/v-1392.htm)? $171/pr of 45s at Vulcan vs. $160.15 (http://www.vulcanstrength.com/Rubber-Coated-Olympic-Weight-Plates-Vulcan-p/v-rcop.htm) for Vulcan.

    Vulcan seems to imply the Yorks come cheaper in sets if you ask them — they may be restricted as to minimum advertised price.

    I’m a believer in the York interlocking change plates so wonder whether that feature may be worth the upgrade to the York price.

    • jburgeson November 17, 2017, 9:49 am

      I completely forgot about those. After seeing this I spent a little time trying to discover their accuracy rating but I can’t seem to find anything. It’s a cool feature, and when Vulcan’s aren’t on sale the Yorks are actually less expensive. Vulcan’s may be more accurate though. That is, we at least know Vulcan’s have the 2% rating – which I can attest to as I do own a set. Either way though, for those who prefer interlocking plates, that feature is probably worth a few bucks more.

      • sonnyncredible April 20, 2018, 9:35 am

        Hi JB,
        I’m extremely interested in the Vulcan rubber coated quad plates. They’ve confirmed that the 45s are 450mm which is great. I wanted to ask you about the fit on the barbell, does it compare to Rogue 6 shooters or Ivanko revolvers? My biggest gripe with other cheaper rubber coated plates (Northern Lights) is that during deadlifts, the plates rattle too much and I end up with a —////———////— looking setup. Thanks in advance!

        • jburgeson April 20, 2018, 11:00 am

          They have what I’d call a medium fit on the bar. They are more like commercial weight plates (think the hex Iron Grips) than comp-style plates in terms of that opening diameter. They aren’t loose like a budget CAP plate, but they aren’t tight like Ivanko discs or say Rogue’s calibrated discs. I don’t have a giant set of these so I’ve never been able to stack them for deadlifts, but I really can’t see these as being my first choice for that purpose. I love having them for odds and ends (like the bamboo bar or the Spud pulley) but these have always struck me as a plate meant for loading up plate-loaded devices (as is the case with most of the rubber-coated options)

          • sonnyncredible April 21, 2018, 11:11 am

            Thanks JB. I think I’ll just go with standard bumpers. They’re cheaper than machined iron plates.

    • M November 18, 2017, 8:10 pm

      I misspoke there — my interlocking change plates are Vulcan. John probably knew what I meant but I’ll correct so as not to confuse anyone else.

  • Jordan November 17, 2017, 6:32 am

    Just a quick vouch for Troy’s PO/HO commercial line. I bought mine for $1.15/lb. pretty cheap for what they are. Accuracy is great on six pairs of 45’s. I find the fit perfect and accuracy within 1%, and often much closer. Ironically, the smaller plates were a little looser fitting and pushing the 2% mark a little more often. Of course, 2% on a 5 lb plate is still close….within 1.5 oz or 45 grams. I have enough change plates to match them up in equivalent pairs.

    Certainly, I lusted after the Rogue KG discs but the Troy plates gave me the same end goal….tight fit (at least on 45’s) and a good accuracy all while being around 50% of the cost of the KG discs. Not saying that I would’ve regret buying the Rogue discs though…

    • jburgeson November 17, 2017, 9:53 am

      I’m still going back and forth on those damn competition discs. I really want KGs in steel.

      Finding those used is a good find, congrats. Also a lot of these plates have the 1-2% accuracy rating for 25’s + but it’s lower for the 10’s and under. It’s probably just too costly to put a lot of milling into plates that only cost a few bucks. Look at what Rogue’s comp change plates cost – so pricey for that accuracy.

      • Jordan November 17, 2017, 2:08 pm

        To be clear, I bought my plates NEW not used. I only paid $1.15 per pound rather than the $1.70 per pound your article shows. I bought them about six months ago. I understand that you just have to get a baseline for price, and aren’t scouring every website ever to get the best price.

        • jburgeson November 17, 2017, 4:37 pm

          Ohh, where did you buy them? I want to have the lower price if I can find it, but you’re right I don’t spend hours on each product hunting prices; esp on stuff people probably aren’t going to want anyway, you know? I used to, but as quick as prices change or rotate out, posts end up being incorrect with pricing anyway. That’s why like under Vulcan’s plates I didn’t list the sale price. What a nightmare trying to keep up with everyone’s sales, clearances, etc. Plus, I have to assume folks will do their due diligence if actually making a purchase. I sure hope they are.

  • M November 17, 2017, 1:00 pm

    I’m feeling kind of stuck looking for gripper-style kilo rubber- or urethane-coated.

    My bumpers and change plates are kilo and I suspect buying pounds here would lead to my buying more total plates than if i can find the right kilo buy but I can’t seem to locate a reasonable choice.

    • jburgeson November 17, 2017, 1:46 pm

      Yeah you’re not going to find much. I’ve done that search countless times. Even companies that sell in the states that produce both pounds and kilograms don’t even ship the kilos into the US to sell. York has steel kilogram discs, but not coated, but even the price on those kilo plates are so high that you might as well by IPF discs from Rogue or Eleiko.

      But yeah, I lift entirely in kilograms so I feel your pain. I’d love for someone like Troy to offer the HO or Interlocking models in kilograms. Something affordable and accurate, but not necessarily calibrated. Maybe even at a slight premium to make up for less demand.

  • alanliev78 November 17, 2017, 2:06 pm

    IM.SAD…you forget my country .The France..
    . Loool in my principal residence homegym .for my “big 3” training i own a complete PALLINI set of 545 kgs (>1100lbs) set . The most of set is composed with one pair of 50 kgs and six pairs of 25kgs.(+ all fractional plates on pair of each). Discs are in finest STEEL (no easy yo rust like ordinary cheap steel).
    with epoxy paint and perfect balance ! A few thinner than Eleiko (and one few less prehensile but i like thin disks…and i use only of 25kgs..i use.50 pair in second work post assigned to big rack movment with old bar..445kg is suffisant for all .lol). PALLINI is same quality than Eleiko but for (in France) a cost of lonely 80/85percent of sweedish brand. . . Easy to see my set on my Youtube chain !.just me watch this brand .just rescherch pallini 545 kilos set powerlifting (alan levy )

    • jburgeson November 17, 2017, 4:34 pm

      lol Alan you are right I did not consider France or Pallini. Keep in mind that 98% of people who see this article will only buy cast iron anyway, and the majority of them are in USA. I have to kind of draw the line in such a way that keeps the post at a reasonable length, that’s why I rarely have stuff like Pallini, Leoko, ZKC, etc. Especially in USA where Rogue prices are better than all others. Truthfully, Rogue wins the day in almost all four categories in terms of value, quality, and price. But if I only had Rogue listed I’d be called a Rogue fanboy. So I present the other reasonable options, and let readers decide.

      • alanliev78 November 17, 2017, 5:03 pm

        Lool im french and in all my activities i include american option !!! (Im in shooting club and i love safari bolt rifles)
        .Because Usa is lonely country with best bolt weapon of world …and others im sure but in france lonely HUNTING REPETITION RIFLE (and 3 shot semi auto) are free like in nebraska lol . For cars..i buy geeman..frenchies are no able to make V12 or V8 engine…i dont have choice loool…p.s Leoko is a very good optiôon too.. lol (i own an old oly lifting of this finish brand lol) my dream fot my homegym is AN ELEPHANT BAR….im sure in a future i will be one very rare french with an Elephant bar in heir homegyms. ☺tink international loool

      • alanliev78 November 17, 2017, 5:14 pm

        They are totaly silly if after this article they want iron cast !!!! If if im live in U.S A and i read This article …i buy IMMEDIATLY ROGUE STEEL power discs !!!! (Except if i want an old York Set .a true vintage 1928/1960…or a new complete set..legacy York are very beautiful an relativly accurate)…but lose 100 $ in a “45” pairs with a true weight if 42….or 47.. its SHAME…and never i can see iron cast like before !!! YORK IS TOTALLY DIFFERENT…before certification of barbell(1963/64) in oly games or all championship all gear was WEIGHT SCALED…and in all case york was heavier of < 1percent…but never lighter. And its not a problem for me..

  • alanliev78 November 17, 2017, 4:11 pm

    For your cast iron plates its easy to upgrade them ! With fuse alloy (weights for car’s tyres balance do the job if god repartition on circle…) and good scale of weight ! Sometimes i was in obligation to do that .the tare for added weight and homogeneised a pair by upper (i refuse to retire weight..) you can obtain exact maxi weight …after just à little discharge of paint spray just on added weight and you have trues lifting weights !

    • jburgeson November 17, 2017, 4:38 pm

      That’s a pretty good idea. What if they are too heavy? smack em with a hammer to chip them? =p

      • alanliev78 November 17, 2017, 5:22 pm

        If its too heavy. U use a drill (1/4″ drill bit) and you pit 6 regular partial hole just fore remove metal weight( distribued around central hole) … and its easy to obtain true indicated weight

      • alanliev78 November 17, 2017, 5:34 pm

        If you dont use lead its more interresting to buy direct good accuracy plates. Me i do reloading for shooting and i have 2 secondary residence with an homegym on each !! I bUy old WEIDER iron cast inacurate (but never more 2lbs of difference fir 45lbs plates) for holliday house (its just for BODYBUILDINGS AND FITNESS. IN HOLLIDAYS WITH FRIENDS AND FAMILLY..for that i never buy another Pallini or Eleiko set..i like pro gear but when its necessary.)…NEVER I PREPARE COMPETITION OF POWER OR OLY LIFT WITH IT !!!!!!…in my true principal house i own professional gear .

  • alanliev78 November 17, 2017, 4:34 pm

    Rogue and Pallini or Eleiko are 3 king choices !!! Ivanko exagerate seriously his prices !!! Why that ?? Ivanko is a wonderfull brand but nothing can justify an overcost of 30/45 % vs brand like Eleiko Pallini or Rogue (all 4 are certified) ….Ivanko can sell a bar very very expensive…because this brand is LONELY able to offer a FULL STAINLESS STEEL BAR…. .but for plates were is advantages????? P.S.
    if IVANKO plates are in S.S….im sorry and agree the overcost because in wet atmosphere or in spa.. Stainless Plates can be justified. And S.S alloy is expensive its natural.

  • alanliev78 November 17, 2017, 4:45 pm

    Im near of certitude than IVANKO PLATES ARE REALLY IN STAINLESS STEEL …
    brand and weight mentions are in bare steel and never i see one oxyded ….i want search on it..but its logic Ivanko is know for total durability ! Im no able to trust than Ivanko can sell same items than challenger but 2 times overcost… .i had see Ivanko powerset in swiming pool /gym/sauna complex…and i never see a point of rust on it….all are shinny like new gear !

    • jburgeson November 17, 2017, 4:49 pm

      Well the metal ones are chromed. Heavily chromed. I doubt they’re stainless, they’d definitely say so right? That’s something to brag about.

      • alanliev78 November 17, 2017, 5:51 pm

        Oki i like All Chromed Ivanko …but serious 360 $ for 2x55lbs its…creazy. a total of 2980$ for a complete set (8 red pairs if no use 110lbs pairs) and withouth bar or fractional pairs !!!! Rigue facture that 1000$ in less !!!! (Price of good bar more all fractional pairs)….545 kgs/1205 lbs SET cost around 2800$ by Rogue….3600$ by Pallini 4100$ by Eleiko….but more of 5000$ by Ivanko.. (Rogue bar is very cheap for a good bar.. i do t know why that but..Ivanko Pallini or .Eleiko bar cost 1000$)

        • jburgeson November 17, 2017, 6:02 pm

          Eleiko has already lowered prices once to compete with all these new manufacturers like Rogue. Eventually other manufacturers will feel the sting of lower priced Rogue stuff, and will also lower prices. If they don’t, they’ll sink. Ivanko can survive longer no doubt because they sell to commercial gyms still, and that’s excellent money. I think prices will continue to fall into line with Rogue over the years, but I could be wrong. Ivanko is a rip off tho, that’s no secret. They are too proud, and stubborn I think. I’d buy Ivanko for 10% more than Rogue, but they aren’t going to do that anytime soon.

  • M November 18, 2017, 2:21 am

    Here’s an option for Garage Gym logogear: https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/Commerical-PU-Bumper-Plate-PU-Weight_60565348187.html?spm=a2700.7724857.main07.31.2980754dqiggWA&s=p

    Chinese kg plates with your logo that present the appearance of a Rogue urethane six-shooter but in kg. Minimum appears to be 30 pairs of plates in your choice of 10/15/20kg plate size — so if average plate was 15kg, it’d be a 900kg order for what looks to be about $2/kg., about $0.91/lb I don’t see precision spec., nor am I clear on any shipping charges.

    • jburgeson November 18, 2017, 11:05 am

      haha yeah, I’ve kind of played around with that too. Not a chance

  • M November 18, 2017, 3:37 pm

    The sad part is that some of the Chinese firms are probably making good plates, and in fact a lot of the plates we see are probably from there — which means some U.S. company sorted the details well enough with a Chinese company but they don’t bother to keep the kilo-consuming end users here in supply even when the minimum order sizes are trivial to them.

    • jburgeson November 18, 2017, 8:22 pm

      Just about everything but Hi Temp and Iron Grip comes from Asia anyway, so yeah they can be as good or bad as you’re willing to pay for. I guess someone did the math at some point and decided demand was too low to bother. Maybe I’ll be rich and famous one day and be able to offer affordable kilo plates to the states. We deserve it! =p

  • Kelvin Aitken November 21, 2017, 1:31 pm

    Eleiko 25kg and 20kg plates are the same diameter (450mm). All are thinner than the Rogue plates by a couple of mm. I would have bought Titex but the colour scheme made me want to throw up in my mouth a bit. Currently Eleiko are having major stock problems but that should be fixed soon. They dropped their price a lot recently but have gone up a bit again. If Vulcan provide steel calibrated plates in KG that should set the cat among the pigeons.

    If you are a competing powerlifter or weightlifter, you should only consider steel IPF approved calibrated KG plates or IWF calibrated KG bumper plates. They are worth the money and will hold their price if you decide to sell a few years down the track. If you consider how much you spend on coffee and restaurants, plates are not expensive.

    Ivanko are not worth the inflated price plus the plugs fall out.

    • jburgeson November 21, 2017, 3:25 pm

      You see I thought that they were the same size, but the website reports otherwise so I went with the “official” word. Also yes, those Titex plates are awful looking.

      Ivanko prices are horrendous, and it’s a shame.

      • IP March 16, 2018, 11:46 am

        I can confirm that Eleiko’s 20 and 25 kg plates **are** the same diameter.

        I don’t know how they let it slip on their website, since the error is pretty obvious and would make the 20kg plate exactly the same volume as the 15kg, but magically 5kg heavier.

        • jburgeson March 16, 2018, 2:26 pm

          I had thought I updated that but apparently not. It is now though. Thanks Ivan.

  • J. Paul December 30, 2017, 2:03 am

    You should include Challenge Barbell’s steel plates. They are originate in India but have seen British and Canadians use them in gyms. I like their old school look and bet they are reasonably priced. They are IPF approved as well.

  • Billy January 8, 2018, 4:52 pm

    Not sure if something changed, but Rogue now lists their machined plates as +2, -0 instead of +/-2
    I think that would be considered an improvement to the plates. Gives them the same range as a +/-1 like their 6-Shooters

    • jburgeson January 8, 2018, 5:10 pm

      Indeed they do – I updated the listing to reflect that. Thank you Billy.

      I’m sure they didn’t change anything with the plates, probably the product page was not published properly before. But who knows.

  • Isaac January 11, 2018, 3:26 pm

    I was wondering if my cast iron plates are 17″ is that a bad thing to lift with? because there is a fitness gym that sells new cast iron for .71 a pound and wanted to buy a couple 45lb pairs

    • Isaac January 11, 2018, 4:10 pm

      as far for deadlifts…

      • jburgeson January 11, 2018, 4:40 pm

        So long as all your plates are that size I hardly think taking 1/4″ off the height of the bar will matter.

        • Isaac January 11, 2018, 5:46 pm

          What happens if one steel plate is 1/4 in bigger?

          • jburgeson January 11, 2018, 8:12 pm

            Well generally you want to keep all the plates the same diameter because those smaller plates won’t ever hit the floor, so it puts all the work of absorbing impact on the plates that are touching. With steel it’s less of an issue, but with bumpers you almost never want to mix plate diameters – beyond a few lighter change plates anyway. Of course it really just depends on the amount of weight too. You wouldn’t want one pair of 17.5″ 45’s alongside 3 more pair of smaller diameter 45’s. You’d probably start to put a bend in the bar. I would never actually recommend deviating from 17.5″ / 450 mm plates, and if you already have normal size plates that’s even more reason to keep shopping around. If these plates are new at .70 a pound, they probably aren’t going to go the distance anyway. THat’s pretty damn cheap for new.

            • Isaac January 11, 2018, 8:20 pm

              the reason its cheap because they’re 20% off heres the link
              http://extremetrainingequipment.com/index.php/olympic-iron-plate.html
              should I invest or wait

              • jburgeson January 11, 2018, 8:31 pm

                How do you know they aren’t 17.5″?

                • Isaac January 11, 2018, 8:43 pm

                  They told me

                  • jburgeson January 11, 2018, 8:52 pm

                    I see. Well, to your original question I don’t think the small size difference matters for deadlifts if your whole set was 17″ plates. I don’t think that adding a single pair of 45’s to an existing normal collection of plates is that big of a deal either.

                    Now would I personally buy economy plates that weren’t at the very least the right size? No. Cheap plates are already totally inaccurate so you have that flaw to deal with. To add yet another flaw (mismatched sizing) to them when you can just as easily find used normal-sized steel plates for (at worst) .20 more per pound, but potentially less than .70 per pound, well I think I’d just wait and scan the used Craigslist market.

                    Not to throw another factor into this, but there’s a chance whoever told you they were 17″ doesn’t know what he/she is talking about. It’s as likely that they really are 17.5″ and you got a wrong answer as it is likely they are 17″ and you got the right answer. I mean it’s very rare anyone deviates from the normal size, but it does happen rarely. Who knows.

                    • Isaac January 11, 2018, 9:14 pm

                      I’ll probably go check them out and measure them myself lol

                    • Isaac January 13, 2018, 2:09 pm

                      Say I buy nothing but 17″ and sell the 17.5″ pair because it is difficult to find larger sizes on craigs and even offerup, would I be okay?

                    • jburgeson January 13, 2018, 5:15 pm

                      yeah of course

  • Billy February 26, 2018, 1:02 am

    As for the basic cheap cast iron, Rep Fitness guarantees theirs to 3% (according to their website), so at least tolerable tolerances below the price of machined plates. I think they take the crown for cheap cast iron online.

    • Billy February 26, 2018, 1:04 am

      They are also $0.89 per pound ( before shipping) regardless of what size plate you get, so they win on price too.

      • jburgeson February 26, 2018, 1:59 pm

        So they are. I have added them. Thanks Billy

  • Daniel March 5, 2018, 10:23 pm

    2 brands of ipf aproved plates not included are bull and challenge

    • jburgeson March 6, 2018, 4:22 pm

      Indeed. Do you know of any retail outlets for Challenge or Bull in the US/Europe? In an effort to keep posts readable I tend to omit anything obscure or not readily available.

      • Daniel March 7, 2018, 12:40 pm

        I’m from Canada and I know inner strength sell bull equipment and I’m pretty sure they ship to the us. Also strongarmsport sells challenge plates (cheapest calibrated plates in Canada) they also ship to the us.

    • Kelvin Aitken March 8, 2018, 11:43 am

      Bull are still on the IPF approved list. Challenge is not (and not sure if they ever were) although they are still calibrated so fine for gym use, just not for competitions.

  • Titus March 28, 2018, 9:49 am

    Shopping for home gym now, was planning on .50 a poind used Craigslist weights but i didnt realize until reading your article that cast iron can be up to 10% inaccurate, so i may spring for some better plates. are the Rep machined plates better than the Rep bumper plates? they are the same price but the machined plates have the 2% guarantee but the bumpers dont. also as someone who owns ZERO plates, what plate allotment do I need? I was thinking one pair of 2.5, one pair of 5, one pair of 10, one pair of 25, and then 2-3 pairs of 45

    • jburgeson March 28, 2018, 9:56 am

      Bumper plates are generally very accurate – up there with machined plates. You don’t have to worry about that with dealers like Rep, Rogue, Vulcan, etc. It’s the CAPs and other chain store brands that you’d want to worry about being accurate.

      If you see plates on Craigslist, search for that brand and model and see if they are machined or not. Could still potentially get a deal if someone is selling machined plates on the cheap and they don’t know it. Probably not, but it’s possible.

      You’ll need single pair of 2.5, 5, and 25, double pair of 10 is ideal, and however many 45s (or 55s, if available) you want. Just don’t buy 35s unless the price on a set is just too good to pass up.

  • Billy March 28, 2018, 3:29 pm

    I’ve had 4 separate reps (3 via live chat and one by email) at Rogue verify that their basic black cast iron plates are +/- 2% tolerance and 2 of them have said they’ll reach out to their “product team” to request updating the page. If that’s true they are a great value making them +/-2%, machined at +2%/-0%, and 6-shooter at +/-1%

    • jburgeson March 28, 2018, 4:05 pm

      Do you actually have those plates? I’d love to have someone throw them on a scale to confirm that. It’s probably true though – the overall reviews are too good for them to be off by over 2%

      • Billy March 28, 2018, 4:10 pm

        I do not have them yet, I plan to get them this summer when I buy a full garage gym setup. I’ve mostly been communicating with Rogue to decide if I should pay the extra for machined to get within the 2% range.

  • Titus March 28, 2018, 6:33 pm

    are “Cemco revolver” plates good at $1 per lb locally?

    • jburgeson March 28, 2018, 8:51 pm

      The coated plates? They are 2% accurate according to their site. A buck a pound for coated machined plates isn’t bad at all so long as they’re not beaten up.

      • Titus March 28, 2018, 9:55 pm

        I did some googling, they are Cemco Power Grip plates (machined iron) they are supposedly commercial quality Ivanko Revolver knockoffs. so $1.66 a lb for Rep Equalizers or $1 a lb for used Cemco (no rust, were used at a small gym it seems)

        • jburgeson March 28, 2018, 10:04 pm

          Yeah seems pretty good.

  • Isaac Carrillo April 17, 2018, 4:08 pm

    I was wondering on some plates since some may weigh more than 45 could some drilling in the plate so I can make it as even as possible close to 45lb work, and if it weighs less weld a washer or something to the plate?

    • jburgeson April 17, 2018, 5:00 pm

      You could. I’ve heard of people doing this. I’m actually tempted to try it on some crappy plates just to see where the best place to do that would be as to not compromise the plate. If you try it, remember that these plates are cast iron and not steel, and cast iron is brittle by comparison. I think this is probably only a good idea if the weight is barely off – I think taking a pound or more out of a plate would result in some fairly large and/or numerous holes. Maybe someone who has done this will chime in.

      • Isaac Carrillo April 17, 2018, 5:13 pm

        so what your saying is lol if I drill to many holes it’ll just crumb away hahaha
        maybe adding weight to it would be easier by adding washers that are welded to it… can cast iron be welded?

        • jburgeson April 17, 2018, 5:20 pm

          haha no not exactly, just that if you drop cast iron plates onto concrete or a piece of equipment, it is possible for it to crack and chip. So if you’re going to weaken the plate with holes there is probably ideal locations to do this as to not increase the odds of it cracking along a line of holes. Maybe one bigger diameter hole is better than multiple little holes? I just don’t know. I’m certainly not saying it’s going to fall apart on its own lol.

          I don’t think you’d want to weld cast iron for any load bearing application, but I’m sure washers being welded to a cast iron plate would hold fine. As would any industrial glue (and you don’t have to weld).

          • Isaac Carrillo April 17, 2018, 6:15 pm

            What if where I drop it is on rubber mat, I can test it by drilling one hole and see how much weight it takes off huh?

            Glue would stick to iron?

            • jburgeson April 17, 2018, 8:07 pm

              I mean I’m not actually thinking you’ll break the plate – it’s very unlikely. I’m just making you aware that if you take a lot out of a cast iron piece you would increase the already present likelihood slightly. I would maybe even consider not going all the way through – maybe find the thicker portion of the plate to drill in 50% and re-weigh.. but you will need to have a fairly accurate scale for this to even be worth doing, ya? Sounds like maybe you’re not sure based on the bar weight comment haha

              I mean are we talking about a 45 pound plate that weighs something awful like 48.5 pounds? Cause if it’s like within 2% already I wouldn’t even bother.

              • Isaac Carrillo April 17, 2018, 8:22 pm

                I appreciate it! This website has given me insight in so much! That I ended up maximizing my garage and programming! If I didn’t find this site I would’ve spent so much on gym fees and trainers. This site introduced me to starting strengths program and what equipment to get! With the DIY it inspired me to weld my own bench and rack and cost me $300 to make all of it! (I’ll send pics soon)… Going to rep you in my gym by buying a banner next weeks pay check!

                • jburgeson April 17, 2018, 11:15 pm

                  I’m glad to have helped; truly. Yes gym pics and especially DIY pics are always fun for me.

                  I appreciate that, Isaac. Thank you )

  • DaveC April 22, 2018, 9:15 pm

    Any opinion with respect to ergonomic grip steel Intek plates ?
    Durability, weight accuracy, fit & finish etc..

    Thanks!

    • jburgeson April 22, 2018, 10:43 pm

      I don’t know how accurate those plates are supposed to be, but I’m guessing since no accuracy claim is made that there pretty much isn’t one (it’s not on the spec sheet pfd either). Prices are too high to not be at least 1-2% guarantee though – I’d keep looking.

  • Noah June 2, 2018, 4:36 pm

    It’s probably worth pointing out to people that “3% tolerance” or “+/-3%” means it can vary from -3% to +3%, so it’s a 6% potential difference between plates. That means one “45lb” plate can weigh 46.4 lbs, and another can weigh 43.6 lbs, with a potential difference of almost 3 lbs, which is terrible in my opinion. Think about this: if you are deadlifting 405, you might be lifting ~12 pounds more on one side. In a worst case scenario, you may try to load 405, and end up with 394 or 416.

    In other words, don’t bother purchasing or using 2.5 lbs or change plates if you get plates with a 3% accuracy.

    The Rogue plates that are +2%/-0% are guaranteed to weigh at least their stated weight, so they are actually +/-1% (however the middle of the range is 1% above the stated weight), which is fantastic. Their other bargain plates that say +/-1% have the same precision, but different accuracy since they can be below weight or above weight. I urge everyone to vote with your money and demand at least +/-1% or +2/-0% accuracy for low cost plates. The only reason we aren’t getting good accuracy with every manufacturer is because we aren’t demanding it; China only produces crap products when we tell them to.

    If you’re advanced enough to consider using change plates <=2.5, then you need to hunt around for plates within 1%, because at 4 plates per side that's an average variance of about 3.5 lbs (7 lbs for 2%, and 11 lbs for 3%). You need to make sure that your variance is below the smallest increment you intend to use. Alternatively, you could use precisely the same combination and orientation of plates with each workout, perhaps even using a spreadsheet or plate loading app to calculate exact values; in this latter case you could make use of those change plates.

Leave a Comment