≡ Menu

Glute Ham Developer GHD Review and Shopping Guide

GHD Review - GHD at the CrossFit Games

If you’re looking to add a GHD to your garage gym, that’s awesome – the GHD is an amazing piece of equipment to have in your arsenal. Having one opens the door to many important exercises that are difficult to replicate without one.

In this article, I’ll talk about what those exercises are and why GHD access is important. Then I’ll take a close look at some of the GHD’s out there so you can see what options exist – a GHD review of sorts. Finally, I’ll add videos at the bottom so folks who are new to the GHD can see some of the movements in action.

GHD Review Table of Contents

Why Own a GHD?

I’m probably not telling you anything you don’t already know, but the glute ham developer is hands down one of the best tools for developing the posterior chain, building strong glutes, and promoting core-to-extremity power. It’s also one of the few efficient ways to isolate and really get at your hamstrings outside of a commercial gym setting (leg curls are rather complicated to pull off without a machine).

The main exercises you would typically perform on a GHD are the glute/ham raise, hip and back extensions, GHD sit-ups, and Russian twists; just to name a few. The videos at the end of this article demonstrate some of these movements for those unfamiliar.

GHD Review & Shopping Guide

Below I’ll show you a bunch of different GHD’s from a number of manufacturers. Discussing more than just a couple will allow you to get a much clearer picture of how available features and price can vary from model to model. Ideally this will help you pin point the GHD that will best serve your needs and your budget. Since the lower priced models in this list are not stand alone units, I’ll start with the most expensive models (true GHD’s) and work down from there. Feel free to use the comments to ask any questions.

Rogue Monster Swing Arm Commercial GHD

GHD Review - The Rogue Monster Swing Arm GHD

The Rogue Monster Swing Arm GHD is a commercial-quality GHD. It’s the both the most expensive and probably the coolest GHD that I’m going to talk about in this article (it’s $1350).

Let me first say that I realize this GHD is overkill for personal use and I’m not actually suggesting that anyone should spend this kind of money to get a GHD in their garage gym. I just feel that is too damn cool to not at least show you. I won’t go too overboard talking about it, but I will share a few of the unique aspects of this GHD that make it so cool.

The Monster GHD has two step-up decks to make getting into position less of a chore, and a redesigned, fully adjustable rear foot-rest with a larger plate than is typical on the ‘standard’ models. Additionally, there is an easy-to-use handle (the swing arm) at the base of the machine that allows you to quickly re-position the foot plate back or forward to meet almost any workout requirement. The foot plate can be moved vertically as well.

Different viewpoints of the Rogue Monster Swing Arm GHD

Rogue also re-designed the base and frame for this GHD. The long, triangular shape combined with the weight of the unit itself will make this GHD very stable for both tall and heavy athletes whether you decide to anchor it down or not. Also, Rogue knows not to go small on the pads – big, beefy double pads are the best when it comes to comfort, and they didn’t disappoint. Overall this GHD is a tank, but like I said, it’s very pricey. You can read more about it on Rogue’s site here if you’re interested.

Rogue Swing Arm GHD: L 62″x W 34″x H 50″, 11-gauge steel, 250 pounds, black, Made-to-order in USA.

York ST Commercial GHD

The York fully adjustable commercial GHD

The York ST GHD is another commercial machine, so it’s still on the high end of price spectrum. It does however have some features that more than make up for the higher price. The biggest of which is the multitude of adjustments that can be made to fit your height, shape, and exercise of choice. Rather than the foot plate just moving back and forth a dozen or so notches as most GHD’s do, the York ST can be moved front-t0-back to 29 different positions. In addition to that, both the front rollers and the foot plate can be moved vertically and independently of one another. All these adjustments make for a whole bunch of positions.

I personally like this GHD. It has a long, sturdy base; rubber feet (but no anchor holes); and super thick pads and rollers. Even the foot plate is of a respectable size. Another convenient feature is that the different positions are laser etched into the frame so you can quickly set the position without counting holes. A trivial feature for sure, but nice nonetheless.

The York ST retails for $839 but it’s available at Amazon starting at $699 before shipping (be sure and check the various sellers at Amazon as they don’t always show you the lowest priced seller by default). If you aren’t an Amazon fan, you can always pick one up from Rogue for retail.

York ST GHD:  68″x W 30″x H 46″, 11-gauge steel, 102 pounds, white or silver, Made in USA.

Legend Standard 3130-S Split Pad GHD

GHD Review - Legend Fitness Standard GHD with Split Pad

The Legend Fitness 3130-S GHD is an all around great piece of equipment. One of the best features is that fact that it’s a Legend product. Legend makes incredibly durable, reliable, and good looking commercial fitness equipment that comes in just about any color combination you can imagine. I personally own Legend Fitness equipment, and while waiting for made-to-order items can be a test in patience, I’m never disappointed when the gear finally arrives.

So first of all, the colors. There are sixteen frame colors and something like 86 fabric colors to choose from. I’m sure that works out to thousands and thousands of possible color combinations. You don’t just get to choose the colors, you must choose them as all Legend products are made-to-order. I’ll bet you can’t guess what colors I choose!

The split man-friendly pad of the Legend GHD - Very high quality workmanship

As far as the features go, this GHD has a very well constructed ‘man-friendly split pad, adjustments that allow the foot plate to be moved both vertically and front to back, and a very large diamond plate foot plate. It also has the infamous pegs for resistance band training. The only thing that may be of concern is the lack of a wide footprint and lack of optional anchor holes for extra stability. Additionally, the price is a bit above average at $809 before shipping.

Just FYI, there is variation of this GHD out there called the 3130, but with no -S. That model has a single piece pad with no split. I can’t imagine why you would want that version; unless you’re a woman who never intends to share her GHD with her man friend. Selfish!

Legend 3130-S GHD Review:  66″x W 24″x H 47″, 11-gauge 3×3 steel, 263 pounds, many colors, Made in USA.

The Incredible Rogue Abrams GHD 2.0

The Rogue Abrams 2.0 Killer GHD

When it comes to building completely bad ass GHD’s, Rogue has definitely taken the gold. Between the Monster Swing Arm GHD I already discussed above, and the new Abrams 2.0 here, I think it’s safe to say that no one else has created a GHD that even compares in coolness factor, versatility, and ease of use.

The Abrams 2.0 has just about everything you’d want in a GHD… an improved, triangular base and single piece chassis that is much more stable under intense use; convenient wheels and handles for moving it around your gym more easily; 10 quick and easy front-to-back adjustment settings for the foot plate and rollers; vertical plate adjustments in 1″ increments; holes for resistance band pegs; and finally, super beefy double pads.

The Rogue Abrams 2.0 has 10 quick foot plate adjustments

Seriously, other than the super expensive Monster Swing Arm, there is not a cooler GHD on this page. Is it worth the money? Well, that depends. If it’s just you using your GHD, you may not care that it moves around easily, or that you can make adjustments more quickly, or vertically, etc. You may weight 145 and not need a GHD stable enough for a 300 pound man to do intense glute/ham raises. Will this last forever and get the job done? Yes! I would wager that this will replace the original Abrams as the most popular GHD on the market. This thing is just 100% bad-ass, and I reviewed it here!

Rogue Abrams 2.0 GHD:  73″x W 44″x H 48″, 11-gauge steel, 200 pounds, black, Made in USA.

Sorinex M2 GHD

GHD Review - The Sorinex Mach 2 GHD

The Sorinex M2 is a very popular GHD that is known to be extremely stable; even with athletes well over 300 pounds. In addition to that stability, I think a major contributing factor to it’s popularity is the fact that Sorinex frequently uses customer feedback to improve their equipment, and that certainly includes this GHD. There has been more than one variation of the M2.

The version I’m highlighting here is the most current variation of the M2, and it is impressive. While a lot didn’t change, there were many new additions as well. Some new features include a more stable fully welded frame rather than it being a bolt-together. Sorinex also added a horn for Olympic plates to weigh the unit down so heavier users can get crazy intense and not worry about the unit moving. There are wheels now for easy transport, and the adjustments for the pads are on a tilting mechanism that speeds up the process of making those adjustments.

Close up of the plate horn and wheel of the M2 by Sorinex

As I mentioned, some things didn’t change. The M2 still has the same beefy and super comfortable pads that it’s always had, the same high-quality foot rollers, and it still has band pegs for added resistance. Speaking of the beefy pads, those pads are so big that it makes the overall GHD look smaller than it actually is. Use the bumper plate for scale in the first picture; those pads are huge. And yes, for those in the know… it has a foot plate, not a bar.

The new Sorinex M2 retails for $799 and can be purchased directly from Sorinex. I expect Rogue will eventually carry this model as well. If they offer it for less, I will edit this to reflect that better price. Rogue does sell the previous version of the M2 for $699 though if you want to take a gander at that. (edit: Rogue raised the price to $799 and made it out of stock. Me thinks they are acquiring inventory for the new model. We’ll just have to see)

Sorinex M2 GHD:  66″x W 34″x H 50″, 11-gauge steel, ?? pounds, black, Made in USA.

Rogue Abrams GHD (Original)

The official GHD of the CrossFit Games, the Rogue Abrams

The Abrams has been updated to version 2.0. I’m not certain, but I have a feeling this model will be discontinued once the 2.0 goes live. I only say that because Rogue has the “all sales are final” disclaimer on this product, and that is typical of a discontinued item. You can still view and purchase this fine GHD here.

Rogue Abrams GHD:  70″x W 40″x H 48″, 11-gauge steel, 200 pounds, black, Made in USA.

Rogue Echo GHD

The Rogue Echo GHD attachment for 2"x3" racks

The Rogue Echo GHD is designed to attach to your existing power rack or rig so that you don’t have to commit a massive amount of space to owning a GHD. It’s also slightly cheaper than a standalone unit. When I first saw this, I didn’t see it being a big hit, but it’s racking up 5-star reviews faster than I expected. I suppose this is a blessing for boxes and garage gyms that are running out of real estate.

The Echo requires both a rack of some sort, and a plyometric box. There are two variations of the Echo GHD; one for the Infinity 2″x3″ line of racks, and one for the Monster Lite 3″x3″ line of racks. Both versions start at $345 without the box. There are a lot of do’s and don’t and special circumstances to owning one of these, so rather than try and cover it all here I suggest just going to Rogue and reading about it.

Rogue also just released a Floor Glute… it’s interesting, but not a true GHD. Take a look.

GHD Review Summary – Recommendations

It’s tough to make a long-distance recommendation for a GHD when there are so many quality models available. However, if you’re a big or tall person, you may want to lean towards a model with a larger footprint so you’ll feel more secure when things get intense; like the Abrams (I included the footprints of each model for this reason). If your budget is tight and you just want a simple, low-cost GHD, the Echo has been very well received.

Just think about which features you care about, and which features don’t change what you intend to do with it, then spend what you’re comfortable spending. All of these are reputable brands, so you’ll get years and years of use out of all of these GHD’s. I didn’t list any box-store junk here; nothing I wouldn’t hop on myself. You don’t have to worry about buying a bad brand, at least not from this list.

GHD Exercises

Here are some videos showing the most common exercises that can and should be done with your GHD. These videos are all from Rogue, and they are all being performed on the original Abrams GHD. Big thanks to Rogue for taking the time to make these videos.

If you’re new to the GHD, take the time to learn the correct form, and take it easy at first. Like any exercise, improper use can be dangerous. Keep in mind that the GHD puts a lot of emphasis on the core; specifically your lower back. I’m quite sure you don’t want any injuries to this region.

The Glute Ham Raise

Works the entire posterior chain: hamstrings, glutes, calves, and lower back. Resistance can be added via resistance bands or weight plates as needed.

GHD Sit-ups

Works the abdominals. This is an awesome full range of motion sit-up for advanced athletes.

Back Extensions

Works the lower back. Form is everything with this movement. Let Matt show you.

Hip Extensions

Works the lower back and glutes. Not to be confused with back extensions. Matt will clear this up.

That’s all folks! If you found this article helpful please share it on your favorite social media site, I would definitely appreciate it. If you have any questions, feel free to leave a comment.

{ 49 comments… add one }
  • Jeff November 14, 2014, 11:47 am

    Thanks for taking the time to post your reviews on gym equipment. I have consulted them before buying equipment for my garage gym. I was browsing my local used sporting goods store and saw a roman chair with the Gold’s Gym brand on it. The store was asking $50 for it. Would this be worth it, or should I hold off and buy the OFW GHD?

    • jburgeson November 14, 2014, 1:19 pm

      Hey Jeff. Gold’s Gym brand is some of the worst equipment out there. Additionally, you’re much better off with a true GHD. I would hold off it were me, maybe check back with the used store, check Craigslist and other classified ads, and so forth. Even if you feel like you could accomplish what you wanted with a Roman chair, I would still avoid Gold’s gear… their stuff is pretty crappy.

  • jd March 22, 2015, 2:34 pm

    I have been looking at ghds lately. Have you seen the vulcan ghd for sale? 539 shipped … nice looking ghd. If i cant find a decent used one… i think i will order this ghd.

    • jburgeson March 22, 2015, 3:04 pm

      Hey JD, yeah I haven’t seen it yet, but I’ve heard good things. The owner is a serious advocate of GHDs and wouldn’t sell a junky unit, and that price is very nice so I think you’d be pretty happy with it. GHDs aren’t the easiest piece to find used, but you never know, you may get lucky.

  • Mark April 15, 2015, 6:01 pm

    Thanks for another great comparison article!

    How about the Get RXd GHD? Is it any good? They are available local to me at $400…
    http://www.getrxd.com/index.php/ghd.html

    Thanks
    Mark

    • jburgeson April 15, 2015, 7:36 pm

      I’ve used it before. They have one at my WL gym. It’s fine, especially at that local pick-up price. I’m 6’4″ and found that it could have gone back like one more inch and been perfect, but that was for warm-up back extensions before training, not glute ham raises… and that’s what the thing is actually for anyway. I have a different one at home.

  • Jim June 14, 2015, 9:23 am

    You have seemingly already thought of everything I’m working through and written about it.

    What are your thoughts on the OFW Commercial unit vs their regular OFW GHD? Is the commercial worth the extra $150? I’m local to Fringe and have their OFW GHD on order but I’m thinking of upgrading to the Commercial unit.

    • jburgeson June 14, 2015, 11:28 am

      Well, I personally would be willing to pay for bigger more comfortable pads and rollers, but not everyone cares. If you actually tried the Econ and didn’t find it uncomfortable and it didn’t move around too much, then it’s probably not worth the money for an upgrade. I’ve not seen the Econ personally though, just the commercial. I personally went with the Abrams, but I got a deal on one of the used Games models.

  • Frank August 30, 2015, 10:22 am

    Hey there great review and guide for a GHD!
    My budget isn’t big enough for a Rogue or something like that so i found this one at the Strengthshop https://www.strengthshopusa.com/glute-ham-developer.html
    What do you think about it?
    It doesn’t look like it has the same quality like a rogue but i think it will be fine for a homegym

    • jburgeson August 30, 2015, 11:22 am

      I’ve actually used that one; it’s a fairly common unit in that it’s just one of those units you can order as-is for resale purpose. You know, not have to design your own. You’re right that it doesn’t compare with the models on this page, but if it’s just for you it’ll get the job done. It’s missing a lot of the bells and whistles like band pegs and a step-up plate, but you can replace bands easily for a lot of stuff just by holding a plate to your chest, or behind your neck. I’d only tell you to avoid it if you’re a huge dude; like 250 or more. It won’t break if you are, but it’ll feel like its going to. The big 11-gauge 2×3 or 3×3 GHDs are better for the tanks.

      • Frank August 30, 2015, 2:28 pm

        Thanks! I think i’ll try it!

  • Mike October 9, 2015, 1:20 am

    Hello and good morning,

    I know it not easy to say something about a training equipment only with pictures.
    Can you image this Glute-Ham-compact model could work well for a home gym.
    https://www.strengthshop.de/review/product/list/id/484/

    Or would you pay more and take one of the other models (or I will look for another brand)?
    https://www.strengthshop.de/glute-ham-developer.html
    https://www.strengthshop.de/glute-ham-developer-deluxe.html

    Thanks,
    Mike

    • jburgeson October 9, 2015, 1:36 am

      We have Strength Shop here. I’ve never been all that impressed, but some of their gear can be acceptable on a budget.

      The compact model would be a mistake I think, and the Deluxe is not really that “deluxe”. Their standard GHD is a typical import model that will probably serve one or two ppl well for some time (as in, not really gonna take commercial abuse well). Yeah there is better for sure, but it should work. It’s half the price as the Abrams on the Rogue EU site, and that seems pretty accurate as it’s probably about half the GHD. Abrams is also overkill for one person.

  • Mike October 9, 2015, 2:15 am

    Thanks for that fast answer (isn’t it quite late or to early in the USA? ;-)

    Because of a lower spine anomaly, for me heavy training means all the time to weigh between more weights (and the benefit of more strength) and the increasing risks.
    My core has to be like a shell. (No doctor would have ever believed me, that I will squat or deadlift with heavy weights).
    To invest money in a perfect GHD is especially for me a very good idea.
    I’m 190 cm tall (nearly 75 inch) an my shoe size is US 15/16.
    So I give it a serious consideration to buy the Rogue Abram GHD 2.0 for 977 Euro total (Tax and shipping). But first I will try to check the market here in Germany.

    Thanks, Mike

    • jburgeson October 9, 2015, 9:10 am

      You’re tall like me. At our height, we easily can weigh over 200 pounds. If you want something that won’t shake and move around under your weight (plus whatever additional weight you take on board), you’ll want something made strong. Still though, the economy models will get the job done assuming it has adjustment settings appropriate for your height, but it won’t feel as secure as a beefy unit like the Abrams. Either way, it is a great piece of equipment to have. US Global-style gyms don’t have these generally, and I think ppl are missing out. Reverse hypers as well, but it’s hard to fit something like that in a garage gym especially if you have a GHD already.

  • Mike October 10, 2015, 4:25 am

    Hello and good morning :-) Weekend!

    I’m sorry that I’m asking you again something. But a really don’t know whom to ask…
    I was searching in all german stores for a GHD.
    The only two GHDs a could find for a good price and with a valuable and secure appearance are those two models (brand is “babarian line”).
    But you know I never tried one and I can’t touch or test it…

    Would you take one of them into account?
    (first is 469 Euro, second 329 Euro – shipping is 22 Euro).

    https://www.mmfitness.at/beintraining/glute-ham-trainer-pro.html
    https://www.mmfitness.at/rucken-bauchtraining/glute-ham-developer-cross.html

    They Abram is still my favorite – hmmm….

    Thanks a lot,
    Mike

    • jburgeson October 10, 2015, 1:47 pm

      These have no split in the pad. You want that split, trust me.

    • Frank October 10, 2015, 3:33 pm

      Hi mike, bin auch aus Deutschland und war in der selben Situation wie du. Barbaian line, Strengthshop oder Rogue? Rogue ist meiner Meinung nach der beste aber bei aller Liebe 1000€ für ein GHD im Homegym? Wenn du das geld dafür hast kauf ihn! Wollte mir dann den großen Barbarian line bestellen doch da er nicht diesen “Split” im Polster hat fiel meine Entscheidung auf das Strengthshop Deluxe Modell. Vor allem als sie ihn in ihren Sonderangeboten für 100€ billiger hatten!:)
      Trainiere damit nun seit ca. 8 Wochen und bin damit voll und ganz zufrieden! Bin allerdings nicht so groß wie du sondern nur 168cm. Aber ich hab das Polster ganz vorne eingestellt somit ist es für mich perfekt und es gibt noch ne menge löcher nach hinten zu verstellen. Somit sollte es auch für leute deiner Größe kein Problem sein damit zu trainieren.

      • Mike October 10, 2015, 3:55 pm

        Hi Frank :-)
        nice to read your response in german. I answer in english, because the comments might be interisting for others.
        Isn’t it funny that we both found the same brands and models?
        What’s that with this split? Why is it so important? Did you read something about it? If yes, where?
        I’m 190 cm and I weigh 98 kg (215 lbs). But this should not be the big problem with any machine, I hope.
        Greetings, Mike

        • Frank October 10, 2015, 4:16 pm

          Yes thats funny:)
          Your weight and your height wouldn’t be a Problem with the Strengthshop Deluxe or the big Barbarian Line. They are both very stable and solid. The Barbarian Line looks a little more solid on the Pictures then the Strengthshop model. So i can only speak for my strengthshop model that it would be strong enough for you and your Homegym. I wouldn’t go with the cheap models because they don’t look that stable.
          But if you have the money go with the Abram. I think it is Rocksolid and there is no shaking or whatever! I bought a Rack from Rogueeurope and you can’t compare their Quality with the Strengthshop. Rogue costs more €€€€ but its worth it. If i had the money when i bought everything for my Homegym it would have been everything from Rogue. But like i said the Deluxe model is good enough for me and till now it makes his job very well.
          The Split between the Pads is good for your “Nuts” and the rest between your legs:)
          I never tried one without a split but i think it would not be that comfortable.

          • Mike October 10, 2015, 6:11 pm

            Frank,
            this is an important info :-)
            How dumb – I didn’t understand “jburgeson” advice… ;-)

            “The Split between the Pads is good for your “Nuts” and the rest between your legs:)”

  • Mike October 10, 2015, 4:31 am

    PS:
    My daughter gave me a book from DAN JOHN to my birthday “Never Let Go”.
    Love it :-) Realy worth to read it.

    http://www.amazon.de/Never-Let-Go-Dan-John/dp/1931046387/ref=pd_sim_14_4?ie=UTF8&refRID=06JGDX6MRMHPBWEKGKAH&dpID=51bFzRYZuFL&dpSrc=sims&preST=_AC_UL160_SR106%2C160_

  • Jason October 28, 2015, 7:01 pm

    Again Faster is having an amazing sale right now and is selling their GHD for $425 with free shipping. I was leaning towards the Fringesport GHD but was wondering if you know anything about the Again Faster machine. Thanks.

    PS – My Matt Chan bar is awesome!

    • jburgeson October 28, 2015, 8:11 pm

      Yeah it’s a winner bar. Glad you like it. Did you get it when it was in chrome?

      I’m not the biggest AF fan so I’ll never really get excited about their stuff, but that price is pretty solid since it also ships for free. AB has theirs on sale for $450 but it costs a shitload to ship, and the Abrams is a flat $95 to ship, so free is nothing to complain about.

      All I can say about the unit itself is that I used one at a box that I visited once and it was pretty beat up, but who knows how long they had it at that point, or how many people had a chance to beat up on it. Probably not fair to make an assessment based on that one unit. Even if it can’t handle commercial use, if you’re using this in your personal gym with only a couple users, I can’t see how it wouldn’t last for a long time. It looks stable enough. Only drawback I see is no band pegs, and no vertical adjustments. Just make sure you’re committed before you buy it, it won’t be easy to return if you don’t like it.

  • Thomas November 8, 2015, 6:58 am

    I’ve had the Vulcan GHD for a few months now and I love it! It is way over built and weights a lot. Absolutely no movement while doing GHD situps. Adjustments are very smooth. Pads are very thick and firm. The ankle adjustment is AWESOME! That is one thing I hate about all the other GHD’s I have been on is that the ankle support area is to wide and open and I have slipped out while doing GHD situps. I live in Charlotte so there was no shipping charge and it being on sale when I got it, it was a great deal!

  • Jim November 21, 2015, 5:26 am

    I bought a Vulcan GHD several months ago for the garage and we couldn’t be happier. I actually ordered the Fringe GHD since we’re local but they kept changing their availability date so I went with the Vulcan machine.

    We’ve recently added GHR’s to the routine but my wife is only 5″2″ so she can’t quite lock her knees into the pass and have her feet on the plate. Any ideas on how to get her to reach the plate or the plate to reach her?

    • jburgeson November 21, 2015, 10:36 am

      I don’t think there is a whole lot you can do to bring the plate closer to the pad once you run out of adjustment space. Other than somehow making the plate itself thicker in order to close the gap between the plate and rollers (plywood?), I don’t know.

  • Jon November 27, 2015, 11:48 pm

    Hi, great site. My first post, with a question – what do you think of the Equipment Raw GHD? It looks to be the same as the “deluxe” GHD at strengthshop usa, but with their current 10% it is going for $360 shipped. Do you think the strange angle of the foot pad, or the full moon pads, are going to affect usability? Thanks!

    • jburgeson November 28, 2015, 12:44 am

      I don’t think the foot plate being angled will matter too much, but I don’t think I’ve ever used one with anything but a completely vertical plate so I can’t say for sure. As far as the round pads, those seem to have fallen out of favor. The old York machines are like that. I personally wouldn’t want the rotating pads, but that’s personal preference I suppose. $360 is a pretty good price, but as with all of this stuff make sure you get what you really want or you’ll be buying it again down the road.

  • lu February 25, 2016, 10:27 am

    I just bought the Again Faster GHD when they had the sale running at $425 with free freight. I have had no problems with it and would recommend it to anyone. However it is missing a few features that some people are looking for: no step up plate for ease of (dis)mounting, no vertical adjustment and no band pegs. The packaging is very obviously Chinese which is annoying however once it’s all assembled it is a very strong piece of equipment. They’re out of stock now so their sale must have worked.

    • jburgeson February 25, 2016, 10:38 am

      $425 with shipping for any half decent GHD would lead to a sell-out I think. I’m not their biggest fan, but they do have some decent sales, and I can see the appeal when they do.

      • lu March 2, 2016, 12:41 pm

        They’re back in stock and on sale for $367.50 with free shipping as a part of their 10 year anniversary sale!

  • Tony June 23, 2016, 12:24 am

    Looks like Fringe is releasing another GHD that appears to be cheaper and smaller than their econ unit. I’m intrigued, but there isn’t much in the way of specs. Some of their econ stuff is starting to use 12-14 gauge steel, I wonder if this unit does also. I also don’t know how much that really matters for a GHD since one wouldn’t be using nearly as much weight as a rack.

    You know anything about it?

    • jburgeson June 23, 2016, 12:36 am

      I do not. You know though, I don’t much care for that 14-gauge stuff. That $199 Squat stand they have… not for me – box-store quality stuff.

      It’s true a GHD would be a better use of such thin steel than a rack, but then again I have the Abrams 2.0 and I kid you not, I can make that thing move around, and it’s a beast. If I hear anything other than what they decide to publish on the site, I’ll let ya know.

  • Robert L September 4, 2016, 2:29 pm

    I was looking into getting a GHD. I found a ghd on craigslist for $350 barely used. Its a Valor GHD. Have you heard anything about Valor’s GHDs or the company? I’m not familiar with them. Are they big box stuff or commercial?
    https://images.craigslist.org/00k0k_dHAa1XXZ7OS_1200x900.jpg

    I also found another GHD on Craigslist. OneFitWonder GHD for $450 (only downside is its 4 hours away and then I have to factor in time and gas $). Looks to be a solid built GHD and Fringe isn’t a bad company either. Although I feel like fringe is starting to not make quite as quality products as they had 2-3 years ago. The bars and bumpers still good imo but the racks and everything else seems to be overpriced for the quality especially when you can Rogue equipment for a little bit more. Seems like Fringe has been raising a lot of their prices on things.
    https://images.craigslist.org/01313_lrZQGIPfeQZ_1200x900.jpg

    • jburgeson September 4, 2016, 3:01 pm

      Valor is big box. I actually don’t see them around much anymore, not sure if that means anything – probably not though. $450 for that OFW unit is too close to what it costs new to make a drive like that. Those guys ship for free, and I can’t imagine anyone’s time is worth less than what it would take to drive 8-hours total for something.

      You are right though, they are sliding. I wouldn’t even include bars on that list of acceptable gear anymore. The only good bar is the Vaughn and it’s over-priced. Bumpers are still the same, but I’d buy Vulcan’s now over Fringe because I feel like I’m supporting a company that may actually innovate something useful for us rather than just pump out more box-store gear. I’m all for moving forward, not backwards.

  • Laif September 24, 2016, 10:59 pm

    I know your not a fan of Again Faster under new ownership but I was wondering how much you think an Again Faster GHD would be worth paying for. I believe its the first model. I’m 6’2″ and 225lbs. if it makes a difference. I know the new ownership has begun to skimp on quality control but how about the old GHD model? have you heard anything postive or negative about it?

    https://images.craigslist.org/00808_hxsxic2XBS6_1200x900.jpg

    https://images.craigslist.org/00p0p_6GyMMKhttqP_1200x900.jpg

    https://images.craigslist.org/00L0L_eSeU9EfPmXJ_1200x900.jpg

    • jburgeson September 25, 2016, 10:18 am

      I’m not a fan of AF under any ownership, but for what it’s worth the GHD wasn’t their worst product. If the price is right, go for it. You didn’t mention what it’s being sold for though.

  • Scott October 25, 2016, 9:21 am

    Uh. So what exactly is a GHD (i.e. what does it stand for)?

    • jburgeson October 25, 2016, 10:50 am

      It’s in the title: Glute Ham Developer

  • Elnora December 11, 2016, 7:48 pm

    Hello, thanks for your review.

    Id like to ask your opinion on http://bodysolid-europe.com/products/body-solid-glute-ham-machine-sgh500?variant=8263137989 . Since I live in europe both this one and again faster’s are cheaper. Around 400-500€ cheaper.

    Would you say Rogue Abrams 2.0 is worth that extra investment?

    Thank you for your time

    • jburgeson December 11, 2016, 10:00 pm

      Body Solid is hit or miss – I don’t know about that specific GHD. I’d buy that over the Again Faster GHD though.

      There is also the Abrams 1.0 for a couple hundred less than the 2.0. The swing arm on the 2.0 is not really important, just convenient.

  • Sean T December 18, 2016, 2:16 pm

    How much would you pay for a used Legend Fitness GHD- single pad (not split), thats in decent shape. specifically the 3130 model. I’m thinking about making an offer but it looks a bit different then the one in the photo above. Looks like its a bit older and the nobs are black instead of yellow. Seems to be in solid shape though.

    • jburgeson December 18, 2016, 2:52 pm

      Did the seller give any indication of what he wants? I certainly wouldn’t offer anywhere near the cost of even the GH-1 considering the lack of a split pad no matter what the thing cost new. If you got the thing for $300 and didn’t have to pay for shipping I suppose that would be a pretty good deal, but Legend equipment isn’t exactly competitive price-wise when it comes to the likes of Rogue so you can’t really use the original cost to justify paying more than a different brand’s new GHD.

      • Sean T December 18, 2016, 8:16 pm

        Yeah he’s asking $150. Which I think its a steal, if its in solid shape even its solid pad. He’s a gym owner and I think he’s just trying to clear space. I think I’m going to check it out tomorrow.

        • jburgeson December 18, 2016, 8:44 pm

          Oh yeah, go take a look at that one for sure.

  • JDuncan April 5, 2017, 11:26 am

    Do you have any plans on reviewing the Titan Fitness GHD that sells for $315 shipped? It looks a lot like the Rogue Abrams 2.0.

    • jburgeson April 6, 2017, 4:08 pm

      I do not.

Leave a Comment

Sorry for the Captchas *